Summer Walks in These Foolish Things

  • June 6, 2022, 5:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey y’all. Summer seems to be upon us, doesn’t it? Happy June!

Yesterday, June 5th, was National Cancer Survivors Day (in addition to June being National Cancer Survivors Month). I did quite a bit of reflecting on the stupid disease, but didn’t come to a conclusion except that cancer is a weird, evil experience that leaves a giant question mark over your head for the rest of your life.

Honestly, cancer can happen to anyone, so it’s maybe something that should leave at least a little bit of a question mark over everyone’s’ head, but after going through the experience - from being told “you have cancer” through surgery through additional treatment - it becomes a bit more REAL, if you know what I mean.

But anyway, I’m glad that I can make a dent through donations from friends (including PB friends), family and others. Thanks to a couple of you here, I am well over the $1500 goal. Thank you, THANK YOU!

The other day, Maybe last Wednesday? Or Thursday? I was walking Martini in a really cool natural preserve area. There’s a main pathway that’s paved and a super easy walk, but there are also dirt trails you can take that are much more natural and you can walk along streams and really feel like you are far away from the city and deep in nature. I noticed the trail signs and other signs saying that you might encounter wild animals, snakes, insects, poisonous plants, etc. when you walk along the trails. And boy, am I paying that price now.

I now have several patches of poison ivy on various portions of skin, but instead of being in areas you’d think I’d have rashes and blistering, the areas are under my arm, on my boob and on my right underarm. Ughhh! It is driving me insane. And I even have some of the steroid cream I was given when I had skin rashes during chemotherapy. I slather it over the infected areas three times a day (per Dr. Google’s advice) and I suppose it’s helping because I’m not yet getting those big blistery bumps, but daaaammmmnnn does this shit ITCH. It’s so freaking uncomfortable.

I guess the price I’ll have to pay for walking the dog for charity. Ha.

In the evenings lately, I walk the dog along a pathway just north of my apartment. It meanders through a neighborhood of medium-sized single family houses and it’s well kept and manicured. I think I’ve written about the little gatherings of people with their dogs that happens every evening around 7:30-7:45. The gathering was normally at the back yard of a woman’s home that backs into the green space pathway. A couple of men and a couple of women (all older) always chat with the woman across the fence.

The other evening, the lady wasn’t sitting in her backyard by the fence. I ran into the old guys and they told me that she’d broken her hip and she’s in the hospital. I’ve heard further news that she may be headed for hospice! Oh no!

And then, two nights ago, I came across one of the old guys sitting on his little foldable chair, close to the old lady’s back fence. I said hello and stopped to chat for a minute and he started stuttering and stalling and finally came out and started talking. He started with, “I know I’m not Mister Right…but…”

And he went on to ask me out!

It totally took me off guard, but I said sure, I’d go to coffee with him.

So he gave me a card. It was like a calling card with his name, phone number, email.

I have yet to contact him outside of the park/walk area and now I’m not really sure what to do because I saw him again last night and I still haven’t contacted him. I know I need to do it, and I really do need to go have coffee with him, but I’m stalling.

I’m sure I’ll see him again tonight. Hm.

OK. I do need to give the dog a quick walk before I make dinner.

More later,
GS


Perpetually Plump June 06, 2022

I kind of like the idea of a calling card. I just watched one of those many shows they have about the super rich people in New York, and everyone had a card that they would leave the people's houses to let them know that they stop by. It's kind of cute. In a weird way. But in a way that speaks to me!

Ginger Snap Perpetually Plump ⋅ June 07, 2022

Oh, that's kind of cool. I actually used to have a calling card - until we all just started plugging information into each others phones!

Deleted user June 06, 2022

Calling card! Marine officers used to give them to me back in the day.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 07, 2022

So cute!

Actually, marine officers? Sexy!

Complicated Disaster June 07, 2022

Ugh. Poison Ivy sounds horrible!! I hope it settles down soon! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ June 07, 2022

It's TERRIBLE! I'm not itchy because I have this cream to put on it, but it just seems to be getting brighter and brighter red!

bobbi01 June 08, 2022

Poison Ivy sounds nasty!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.