Tuesday and Second Date in These Foolish Things

  • May 31, 2022, 11:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Waiting for a phone call from yet another HR representative. This time it’s for a job in the other city - would be a 45ish minute to an hour commute. Ugh. Hate the thought of that. But I will talk and listen to this person about this gig that I may or may not be a great fit for.

Meanwhile, I had a second date with Thrice, the three-times-engaged-but-never-married guy last night. We were supposed to go on his boat for a sunset cruise. He gave me a little itinerary, asking me to come over super early.

Honestly, I didn’t feel like spending a whole day + night with him, so I asked him if I could come over at bit later and he said sure. THEN I just got to feeling like I didn’t really want to be on a boat. I hate to sound like a total party pooper, but it was super, super windy and the thought of bobbing up and down in the water while I’m still kind of woozy from vertigo was so unappealing to me and actually made me a little nervous. I know it was a wuss move, but he’d already told me that he was checking the weather conditions at the lake and if it became too windy, he’d come up with a Plan B.

So before I went over, I called him and asked if we could maybe go with Plan B, even though he’d said the boat trip was still on (I checked - the winds were kind of whipping at 25 mph, making me nauseous just thinking about it), and he hesitated for a minute and was like…ok, that’s fine…I’ll just need to make a few phone calls and let the others know that we won’t be on the boat.

And I was like, HUH? There are others involved in this date? I had no idea there were going to be other people! I felt awful about asking him to change plans if others were part of the plan, but at the same time, why didn’t he tell me there were going to be two other couples on OUR date?!

Is that weird that I was a little shook?

So, both thrown off, we decided to go ahead and we’d do something and he’d let the other couples know that we weren’t going to make it.

[Side note: turns out, he’s the co-owner of this boat…and I guess it’s not a boat, it’s a yacht (la-dee-dah!) and so it was not a big deal for us not to “host” this boating event since the other owner was there to take the peeps out]

Anyway, there was no real Plan B. I went to his place in this fancy new high-rise building on the far, far north part of the suburbs. It’s always weird going to that part of town because it’s about a block away from where I used to live with Sexy Pants. The area has grown by leaps and bounds and it’s just wild to see all of the new development in the fields where SP and I used to take our walks.

Thrice lives on a high floor with a pretty cool view. He has a 9-month old puppy that clearly needs much more attention and exercise that it gets cooped up in a high rise. She’s a herding dog of some mix and she practically attacked me when I walked in the door. For a dude, he’d done a pretty good job decorating, though 10000% not my taste, it’s always interesting to see what people do with their living spaces.

I took a pic of the view from outside on his patio, which by the way, was soooooooo windy it was uncomfortable - it made me happy that my balcony sits right at the top of the treeline and gets a nice, cool breeze instead of a violent whipping.

And then he drove us over to a little wine bar that SP and I used to go to. Kinda weird, but not really since it was our old neighborhood. But it was a beautiful evening and I always love sitting outside when I can. He chose a table back in the far, far, dark depths of the place. Why do my dates love the darkness (see: lunch date with Cap’n K. a few entries back)?

We had a nice time chatting and tasting some new wines, but it was a lackluster date. He brags too much. I think he makes a lot of money and wants to show for it, but it’s like a kid who talks about all of the toys they have. He’s buying a bigger yacht next week and yada yada yada.

I couldn’t get into it, and I don’t know that he got into me either. I think we’re both not really into it.

And we never had dinner - just wines and the tiniest cheese board with three tiny, tiny pieces of cheese and some dribble of fig jam and honey.

And he took me back to his place where I took another couple of pics of the view at night (fun to see my old office from his vantage point), he poured me another glass of prosecco, we got the dog and took her to the dog park to get some running in (poor thing!) and he walked me to my car and gave me a lackluster kiss and buh-bye.

Got home and I was just ravenous! I hadn’t really eaten anything on top of a couple of glasses of champagne and I needed something in my stomach to sop up the bubbles! Pulled out some frozen turkey meatballs and edamame and made a late, late dinner and loved on the dog and then snuggled down into bed, hoping to dream of Prince Charming. Will he ever appear?

I’m so jaded and not into dating AT ALL anymore.

BUT. I just finished my phone conversation with the HR guy and got very excited by the opportunity with this company. They have a fantastic hybrid schedule of two days in the office, which is totally doable and now I’m very much into the thought of this place. I’m not going to tell them this (duh), but I’d work for much less money here than at the Industrial Equipment Company.

Let’s make SOMETHING HAPPEN!!

Okay, on with the day! Hope everyone had a good, long Memorial Day Weekend!

xo,
GS


Florentine May 31, 2022

Bummer about Thrice, but I have a good feeling about the new company! 🤞

Complicated Disaster May 31, 2022

Who on earth fails to mention about other people on a date?!!!!!
Also, sending all the vibes your way about the job!
xx

echopod May 31, 2022

That poor dog!!! So many people get the wrong breed just because they like it without thinking of their lifestyle. I love Labradors, and I was also prepared to run five miles a day with Bud at the beginning knowing he might eat my couch otherwise because Labs, ya know? That tells me enough without the bragging.

Sometimes marriage is so difficult, but at least you can count on the same stuff pissing you off every day. There’s no preparing for these dates and people and dorito breath.

bobbi01 May 31, 2022

Think you made the right call on the yacht. Yay for a company to get excited about.

plushcreep June 01, 2022

I love your solo life. It sounds so ideal, I have to wonder: do you even need a Prince Charming? I mean sure, companionship is great, but you're rockin' the single life.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.