Nicknames… in Life Lessons

  • May 31, 2022, 1:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can’t be the only one that hates nicknames right?! These are my opinions I’m not trying to offend anyone, I apologize if it does.
Growing up my family never used nicknames.. there’s was a few here and there but idk we just weren’t big on them…
my thoughts are off you want to call you kid something don’t name them something else, there are exceptions but don’t name your kid josephine to call her joey… if your nickname has nothing to do with your child’s name it’s silly to me…
My husbands family is very big into nicknames (the kind that are dumb to me) for example his grandpa will call a grandchild “mud” all his life because once as a baby the child played in the mud…
My SIL has decided to stick me with a stupid nickname that I hate (I have a longer name and my husband calls me by part of my name - just shortens it and I’m ok with it) my SIL has to be special and come up with a stupid name… I can’t stand it..
I am very bad with confrontation and try to avoid at all costs - but I really want them to stop calling me that (my MIL has started calling me that now)
My question is - can I text them? Will that cause more problems? Should I stick it up and tell them to their face? Is this just one of those things not worth a fight?


Last updated May 31, 2022


selling the drama May 31, 2022

I think it's better to say NOW that you don't like a name until you're stuck with it for life. Like, better to be uncomfortable for a little bit with a confrontation than forever with a nickname you hate.

My mom started calling my husband Ike (named Isaac) and he absolutely hated it in the beginning. He doesn't mind it now (some of our friends and sometimes I call him Ike) but he wouldn't tell my mom when we were dating. Now that we're married, he's stuck with it lol.

CountryGirl selling the drama ⋅ May 31, 2022

Yeah that’s what I think it has already been a couple years but better not than 20 years I think… yeah idk if it’s because it’s them makes it worse (I have other articles about that but they basically treat me like they can’t stand me) but I hate the nickname either way…

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.