Stolen treasure in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 30, 2022, 11:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Someone posted a different version of this song today.

Then I looked up the lyrics.

The first time ever I saw your face
I thought the sun rose in your eyes
And the moon and the stars were the gifts you gave
To the dark and the endless skies, my love
To the dark and the endless skies
And the first time ever I kissed your mouth
I felt the earth move in my hand
Like the trembling heart of a captive bird
That was there at my command, my love
That was there at my command, my love
And the first time ever I lay with you
I felt your heart so close to mine
And I knew our joy would fill the earth
And last ‘til the end of time my love
And it would last ‘til the end of time
The first time ever I saw your face
Your face, your face, your face

And then the writer Ewan MaColl.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ewan_MacColl

I thought the sun rose in your eyes.

======

I’m still getting body armor ads. Who knew? Not me for sure.

Memorial Day is the first day, first holiday, of summer.
The hinge the seasons swing on
So green and fresh and promising.
Reminding us of the past and those who came before us
Those who have left this earth before us too.


Jinn May 30, 2022

Memorial Day is for remembering.

Purple Dawn May 30, 2022

It s a beautiful song.
It's very nice marking Memorial Day with something so positive :)

noko May 30, 2022

As you swing into summer may the days be full of stolen treasure.

NorthernSeeker June 02, 2022

The lyrics are beautiful. I can rarely distinguish the lyrics in a song unless it is a solid rock anthem. Even then I can only learn the chorus.

Cathy June 05, 2022

"Reminding us of the past and those who came before us
Those who have left this earth before us too."

I like that. When I was growing up, our Memorial Days were spent taking flowers and arrangements for flower boxes to nearby cemetaries where family members/ancestors were buried. Where we lived, in that time period (60s-70s), Memorial Day was for all loved ones who had died, not just the military.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.