Comedy festival in Adventures in paradise

  • May 29, 2022, 10:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I managed to get through my weekend shifts on light duties, so that’s good. My back seems to gradually be feeling better by the end of each day after moving a lot, but man it still hurts in the mornings after being still all night. I’m kind of wishing I was a toss-and-turner at the moment for the sake of my back.

Some wanker had vandalised someone’s car, which I passed on my commute. It had already been posted on my building’s Facebook group. Fuck I hate people. I had to wonder if it was because of my seat going Green for the first time ever (the Greens candidate is a gay guy, but so was the LNP member so that makes no sense), or if it was some moron from the Teneriffe Festival which was also happening over the weekend.

I’m hoping the Mater across from this has caught the fucker on camera.

I had my event to attend last night as well - the improv show at the Powerhouse, as it’s Ryan’s last Australian show for a while it seems. The LANY show was also on at the same time. They are a band I love, burt I guess I have seen them twice before. I found myself annoyed that I never do anything and then of course there are two things I want to do happening at the same time.
I finished work at 5:30pm and thankfully had enough time to go home first, as the show didn’t start until 8:30pm, so I got to have a bit of a break and a shower (showers have been really beneficial for my back the past week) and then I walked to the Powerhouse.

The show itself was okay. It was two improv teams competing against each other, Queensland vs Southerners, so like Victoria and New Zealand. The Southerners were clearly better haha, but it was nice to see some of the people I’d met last time up on stage for the Queensland team, including Luke, Carla and of course Ryan.
I was trying to guess which of the guys from the Southerners team was Ryan’s boyfriend.

I stuck around after the show, as Ryan said it takes them about 20 minutes to come out, and he spotted me and came and gave me a hug. A short while later I was introduced to his Kiwi boyfriend, Trubi, who it turns out was none of the guys on the stage, so mus have been backstage or not a part of it. Anyway, he was reallly cute, smile that lit up his face, dressed impecibly, perfect teeth, very essentric and even a perky ass. Bravo Ryan haha.
The bar was closed after the show finished (so stupid) so Luke said they were going to go to The Wickham (the gay bar back in the Valley) and Ryan kindly invited me but said he couldn’t get me there, which was fine. I ended up walking home and having a bite to eat and try to calm my introverion down.

I walked along the river on my way back

My social anxiety was through the roof the entire time, and even trying to convince myself to head out again was hard.

I haven’t been to gym in a week because of my back so I’m feeling fat.

I was probably home for about a half-hour when I decided to change and just go, and as I was walking along Wickham Street, I recognised them walking along on the other side of the street toward where I’d just come from. I called out and it took them a while to recognise me. I was like, “What? You finished there already?”

Turns out one of the guys didn’t have his ID and they wouldn’t let him in. Ryan was pissed. All he wanted was a drink after the show and this guy had ruined it, so they were heading back to The Waterloo, which is a pub litereally right next to where I live, but I’ve never been there cos I don’t have any (drinking) friends haha. Turns out because it’s out of the CBD area, they don’t care as much about ID’s, even though clearly the guy without the ID is over 18, the inner city clubs have to stick to the rules. I saw the bouncer talking to the guy and there didn’t seem to be any issues with him getting in.

It was there, I noticed a few more of the people I met last time, unfortunately without the hottie Dave, although the others remembered how how I thought he was haha. I still felt awkward and quiet the entire time, but at least the drinks were flowing. These people are lovely, but it’s so hard hanging out with improv actors as they are all so confident and quick-witted. It was very cute seeing the relationship and chemistry between Ryan and Trubi in person. I met a couple more of the girls, who were lovely, including kiwi Emma - her and Trubi were just bantering off each other all night, Jazz who was the ‘crazy’ and pretty character I met at the bowlo show, and Carla, who is Luke’s girlfriend who kindly offered me a lift home last time. I was quiet and the odd one out the entire time, not being an improv person and therefore not getting any of their inside jokes, but I did say a few things here and there so I didn’t come across as a complete waste of space lol. It didn’t help that where we had seated, there was a mirror across from me, so I could see how bad I looked each time I glanced haha. Both Trubi and Luke bought me a drink which was incredibly nice, and by the time I asked what they wanted for my shout, Ryan told me he thought they had called last-drinks, so then I felt bad! I wasn’t so sure, since it was open until 4am, but I’m not sure.
I even managed to fake not being out of my depth when Ryan had to use the bathroom haha, and I asked a few things about the show, as I figured I was the audience perspective in that group. When Emma was asking a couple in the front row how they first met, the man had said he loved her eyes, yet when the woman answered, she said “He was on coke.”
The whole audience laughed, and the Southerners act for that round was to reenact the scene of how those two first met. I asked if they went a different direction to try and tame the guys answer a little. Trubi explained that because the audience had already had the biggest laugh at his answer, they didn’t need to try and get another laugh and went a different direction (the bartender had made him a coca-cola drink instead.)

After we all filed ouside, I found out Trubi was obsessed with Eurovision and he couldn’t believe that I have been to the one in Portugal, so that was kind of cool. I told him he really needs to go to one sometime. Even Jazz gave me a hug goodbye, which was nice. She’s so pretty! And I hugged everyone goodbye and walked up my street home.

I got home and couldn’t believe the Formula 1 race was still on live. It was 1:30am! So I decided I may as well watch the rest of it. I caught up on what I’d missed this morning. Another great race.

So yeah, the night was alright I guess. I just wish I wasn’t so… y’know lol. Odd ha. I guess I’m just trying to focus on the fact that being quiet means I get to listen a lot and laugh a lot at everyone else’s jokes, and Ryan keeps referring to me as one of his biggest supporters. Not really, I’ve only been to a few shows, but it’s nice to say.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.