Ten Things in These Foolish Things

  • May 28, 2022, 3:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Long weekend! But it doesn’t matter right now because all weekends have been long weekends for me the past 12 weeks. Still, it’s kind of fun to see the unofficial start of summer. My complex pool has hired extra security, so that should be interesting. The pool is on my floor, but I’m on the quiet side of the building, so it will be fine.

  2. I woke up last night in the middle of the night to a MASSIVE bout of vertigo. I was scary as fuck, and I thought I might be having a stroke. It was severe bed spinning, way worse than alcohol-induced bed spins and my eyes were moving around like crazy. I gave myself a stroke test (checked to make sure I could lift both arms to the same degree and when the spins stopped, I checked the mirror to make sure no drooping of one side),It was the weirdest thing, and I was afraid to go back to sleep. The vertigo event lasted maybe a minute or so, but I was freaked out for the rest of the night and did not lie back down from 2:30 am until 7am when I got up for the day. I sent messages to Best Bud who’s been having severe bouts of vertigo for the last year or so. I remember she was showing me a way to help it go away - it’s called the Epley Maneuver, and it’s a technique to help get dislodged crystals in your ear canal back into the correct spot, and that seemed to help a lot. There are some good videos on YouTube, I just didn’t feel like posting them here and breaking up the rhythm of this entry.

  3. I’ve been taking it fairly easy today, though I’ve done two dog walks and a Target run.I just talked with my doc and told him all of the above, PLUS the fact that I remembered I’ve been wearing air pods quite regularly for the past week or so - we both wonder if that has something to do with the vertigo as well. I asked him if it is OK to drive about 30 minutes to a friend’s daughter’s graduation party, and he told me as long as I’m doing ok and being very cautious that I should be OK. So I debated on whether or not to go, but I think I want to get out of the house today. It’s a lovely day and I’d like to go see my friend JW whom I haven’t seen in a long time.

  4. Yesterday I agreed to go to lunch with Captain K. again (the man without a plan). At first he asked me if I wanted to fly somewhere…um…YES! But then when he told me that his transponder is on the fritz, I was like…nah, let’s just go someplace close. Y’all. He was going to take me somewhere in his old-timey plane with no equipment to allow for tracking us in the air??? He was all, yeah! We just have to go someplace that doesn’t have a tower. And I know there are lots of those around, but don’t forget I’m a nervous flier and on top of that, I don’t even have the HOTS for the guy, so it would suuuuuck to die in a plane crash with this guy! So he picked me up in the Tesla, and it was such a lovely day I thought we could spend a couple of hours on a shaded patio somewhere, but he surprised me with his own plan.

  5. It was a plan to go to Fogo de Chao. For lunch. Do you know this place? The place that gives you the meat sweats even before you walk in the door?! The place that serves you ENDLESS amounts of various cuts of red, RED meat directly from swords that the gauchos waltz through the dining room with??! The dude KNOWS I don’t eat red meat at ALL!! Well, his reasoning was that I could eat from the “market table”, which is a fancy way of saying salad bar. And that’s totally fine (and that’s what I did), but the sad thing was, the restaurant is this ultra DARK, dimly-lit, wood-paneled, low-ceiling place. Super moody. While it was a GLORIOUS Friday afternoon before a holiday. What the fuck?

  6. To top it off, during our conversation over mediocre picked-over salad bar selections, I found out that the guy isn’t even VAXXED. And then we get down to the REAL meat of the conversation: he voted for Trump…TWICE. How had I never known this?

  7. And that was the end of lunch. And the end of Cap’n K. He drove me home and I said bye! No kiss. No hug. Just no.

  8. At least I’m still getting texts from Thrice (see my latest RAD, 2 entries back). He and I are lining up something to do on Monday, but nothing is solid yet. I may end up just relaxing if this vertigo isn’t totally resolved (some dizziness is lingering).

  9. I have lots and lots to say about the biggest event of this week that happened in Uvalde, Texas, but I don’t have the energy right now. Just know that I am beyond furious, frustrated and horrified - especially that the NRA refuses to read a room and our government can’t get it together to do anything. Please don’t get me started. I can’t at all right now.

  10. Must get ready for graduation party. I’ll see you on the other side of this, provided I make it there and back!


echopod May 28, 2022

I had a case of vertigo in 2009 for WEEKS!! I ended up fixing it with a couple of chiropractic appointments, but I bet with your….thing that I forget the name of right now but I probably wouldn’t be into it with that. Glad it didn’t last long!

Ginger Snap echopod ⋅ May 30, 2022

Oh no no no with the chiropractor! My thing is a carotid artery dissection, and there's an aneurysm in my head, so no shaking that sucker around! The reason I got to my doctor on a Saturday is because I wanted to make sure he thought my aneurysm was ok. He told me to just be cautious.

It's Monday now, and though I have some lingering dizziness, it seems to be ok right now.

It's interesting to read just how many people have experienced this.

bobbi01 May 29, 2022

Those you tube videos cured me from weeks of misery. Looking at your notes it is obviously very common.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ May 30, 2022

Really? Weeks? I did the maneuver and it seemed to help somewhat, but I’m still kinda dizzy. We’re you still dizzy after doing it? Also, yes, it does seem a lot more common than I thought!

bobbi01 Ginger Snap ⋅ May 30, 2022

I felt cured almost instantly. My Dr said there are physios that do the maneuver full time, you might need to find one of those.

Parliament May 29, 2022

I've had BPPV before on two occasions almost a year to the date apart. I had a telehealth appointment since it was during covid, but I googled the shit out of everything and actually managed to take a video of my eyes bouncing (which is used to diagnose). The Epley Maneuver can help, but it all seems to resolve within a week's time. I too think it was airpods causing the issue.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ May 30, 2022

Interesting! I'm glad I wrote about it because it seems like a lot of us have had this same experience.
Love ya, P!

colder May 29, 2022 (edited May 29, 2022)

Edited

Fogo De Chao for lunch sounds like NoPlan is looking for a bromance and not romance! I could see going to the meat circus with guy friends maybe but not on a date. Not even in the evening on a date. Haha.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ May 30, 2022

Right?! Well, he told me that his buddy recommended the Fogo de Chao for some reason, and he'd been there before. Still, SO WEIRD!

Complicated Disaster May 30, 2022

That vertigo sounds awful! A bit like Cap'n K! lol xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ May 30, 2022

Both just about equally awful!

Nash May 30, 2022

Sounds like benign positional vertigo. I had it a few years ago and it is a major pain until your body adjusts. The Epley will keep you from totally losing your mind.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ May 30, 2022

I think that's exactly what it is and I think my body is working on adjusting now! Seems to be pretty ok and I've been doing normal stuff for a couple of days now. We'll see. I may be going on a boat tonight...so...the ultimate test!

Nash Ginger Snap ⋅ May 30, 2022

It took me about a month. That stuff is no fun.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.