RAC: The Industrial Equipment Company in These Foolish Things

  • May 26, 2022, 12:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My second Rate-A-Company. Had a face-to-face interview, so I’m sharing this one RAD-style again. Yep. I’m dating companies.

Name: The Industrial Equipment Company

Introduction Platform: An HR representative reached out to me. I was shocked and made sure to explain to him that my development expertise is a little more on the creative side. He told me that they are actually looking for a person just like me who has experience building brands and working with multiple vendors and managing a lot of product…said that the hiring manager told him that I’m exactly the type of person they need.

Age: Company is around 35 years old

Company Status: Growing VERY well (what commercial building, office, or construction site doesn’t need industrial equipment? And have you seen how much growth has been happening in the US? Not sure how long it will last, but equipment like this always needs to be replaced, too.

The Position: Product Manager. Would be for many thousands of SKUs of things like compressors, portable HVAC equipment, medical and food-grade thingies. Giant metal things I know NOTHING about. Not much development, not much creativity with product, but as I now understand it, after the interview, the creative part would be more with the marketing. Make Industrial Products Sexy Again! MIPSA!

Location: This is where it’s like…ughhhh (even more so than the product). It’s not that the commute is far or anything, and it’s not in a terrible part of town, but it’s a super dumpy building hidden behind an auto body shop and a Carmax. It’s totally industrial, and I understand that, but it just felt kind of depressing. Funny thing is, I followed the map and then got to the general area and I had to kind of drive around a couple of buildings and back through a weird parking lot behind the body shop and nearly said fuuuuck this. But I didn’t. I was like, I’m already here, I might as well go in and see what this is all about.

Length of Interview: Exactly two hours, from 1-3pm.

We Did: I walked into the open office and was greeted by the HR guy who’d called me and talked with me. He stuck his head into an office door to find Hiring Manager. He introduced me to HM and we shook hands and I was led through the depressingly small cubicle farm into a boardroom-type meeting room, which was nice. There were these horrific framed photos on the wall, each depicting several clunky metal machines that I knew were the product, but had no clue as to what they were. The HM sat down and started in with some pleasantries (he had my resume in front of him), and then I recognized him…we’d had a brief overlap in our careers. He’d worked for one of the big corporations I’d worked for and I remembered him! I just didn’t recognize him in this setting! Weird! But I know this is why I was called in for an interview. He knows and understands the processes of the job I was doing for the other company and knows I have the skills to do what they want to accomplish. He explained more about the company and told me that it didn’t matter that I didn’t know anything about the product yet. The job is pure product management with category management peppered in. He told me about the awesome work-life balance (which is good!) and the fact that he’s open about having a side gig that affords him to hone his own creative side. Then he took me to meet with the General Manager and we had a decent conversation, but after a while I just couldn’t get over the fact that he looks exactly like the Dorito Breath Cowboy!! Oh my lord. I couldn’t shake that thought - especially when he smiled. Man. I got the heebie jeebies. But I tried to keep it profesh. He told me that the only concern that they would have with me is if I am not in it for a long-term opportunity. I get it. They don’t want to spend the money only to have me find something much more creative and leave. But I suppose that every company needs to be thinking about this. All-in-all, decent conversations, but I’m not yet convinced.

The Office Looked: See above. Not very good. But the HM also told me that they were going to move into a much nicer building next year. I don’t know if he was saying that just to ease my mind, but whatevs.

I Looked: Well, the HR guy told me that the office is CASUAL and that most people wear jeans and polo shirts and that type of look (think industrial equipment, right?), so I’d actually put on a pretty skirt and some pumps and a nice, flowy top and then I thought I looked TOO dressed up, so I ended up changing my skirt to a pair of “dressy” dark jeans and kept the top and wore my super gorgeous kitten heeled Prada sling backs for just a bit of oomph. Risky move, I know, wearing jeans, but considering I almost canceled (and nearly ghosted in the parking lot!), I guess it was fine.

Convo: Again, the regular job convo, but not a lot about my skills because the HM already knows what those are. It was more them explaining their company, the culture (NO working after 5pm is a plus!) and the benefits (decent, including medical, 401k, automatic 3 weeks vacation, etc.). I still felt a bit like a fish out of water and unsure, but we finally got to the nitty gritty of salary and I asked if there was a range they were looking at for this position and of course there is, but HM wouldn’t tell me, so I told him that a lateral move for me would be $XYZ and of course, he told me that it was above their budget, but because they are a small company, they might be able to shuffle some budget, yada yada.

High Point: Being somewhat pleasantly surprised by the thought of somehow making industrial products sexy-ish.

Low Point: Sadly, the sinking feeling when I drove up to their office

How It Ended: Was told I need to go through all of the motions and fill out their online application, which I will do as soon as I post, and to think about it long and hard.

Chances Are: Y’all. I DON’T KNOW! I am so unsure of how I feel about this company. Yes, there are some awesome-sounding benefits to working here, I’ll get a whole new product skill set, but can my design heart take going someplace that just doesn’t tingle my soul?? I think the thing that might determine it is if they come up with the $$$. And that might tide me over for a while, but I don’t see this being a long term opportunity for me and I know that’s what this company wants. I’m torn!

Company Rating: C. I’m totally in the middle about this place.


Last updated May 26, 2022


WhatDreamsMayCome May 26, 2022

Don’t downplay the value in adding to your skill set.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ May 26, 2022

Yes! I have been thinking about this too!

CharminglyNeurotic May 26, 2022

I actually feel this place would be GREAT! A way to really stand out and shine. Who needs glitz and glamour in an office? Just try to get the highest salary/benefits package possible and do this for a year. It seems stable and so what if it is sort of not showy and a bit boring. You will SHINE! And less craziness than glitzy companies. You have health issues and this place seems more substance than gloss.

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ May 26, 2022

So, yeah. I'm pretty sure if they cough up the cash (and I was reasonable with my ask), and yes. This could be something interesting!

Fred Ginger Snap ⋅ May 26, 2022

I’m with CN here. This could be great. Also there’s a lot to be said for having an easy life - no demanding hours, decent vacation (I’d negotiate that up to at least 4 weeks) and being appreciated.

Parliament May 26, 2022

Who cares about the office park-- how's the pay?

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ May 26, 2022

Working on it!!!

Complicated Disaster May 26, 2022

I think the office *atmosphere* is way more important than what the office actually looks like. Did you have a chance to get a feel of the company culture? xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ May 26, 2022

Not really. I went from the front door to the conference room to the GM's office. I walked through, but I didn't really see the cubes, etc. I did see one cute girl (noticed her outfit and was actually impressed).

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ May 27, 2022

Hmmm. Maybe if it progresses further it's something you should try to do? xx

bobbi01 May 26, 2022

I feel like you could make an impact here. Before they know it they will be in some sexy-as industrial office.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ May 26, 2022

Hahaha! This is true! Maybe I can zhuzh up the place a bit!

colder May 26, 2022

I’m really glad you went through with it! You can always learn something by talking to other professionals, especially those who are looking for applicants. Regardless of whether you see yourself working with compressors and adapters and generators and etc., considering things out of our comfort zone can be a good thing. But the workplace culture is important too, and the office is kind of an extension of that. I’m sure if they want a long-term fit, they will understand an applicant wanting the culture to be right for them. Better for both sides to keep looking then to have to start over in a year.

Good luck on your next company date, whatever company that’s with!

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ May 26, 2022

I could learn a lot at this place, but at this point, the money must be right!

Deleted user May 26, 2022

I hear you. Part of what made me sad about the thought of leaving was leaving the gorgeous office in a fun part of town. Not sure I could get enthusiastic about equipment, either. If it was a nicer building, would that make a difference?

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ May 26, 2022

Good question. Honestly, if it were a nicer building it might make the tiniest bit of a difference. But here's where I get hung up about this: I've always said that I can't work on product that I'm not passionate about. I know there are many who can, but I've never felt like I was that kind of person. I'm a PRODUCT person and I have an aesthetic eye. I would have to get reaaaaalllllyyyy creative with this role. Conversely, the hiring manager is also very creative and he was singing the company's praises. And he'd be cool to work with. So, I'm wavering. I think if the money is there, I might bite the bullet. We shall see!

.bob May 26, 2022

My gut tells me the creative side of you would hate it and you would languish there. But there is an appeal to having something easy, low stress, secure at this point in life.

Fred May 26, 2022

Also I get the concerns about the building but 1) they are moving and 2) how flexible are they about regular work from home?

echopod May 26, 2022 (edited May 26, 2022)

Edited

I always was at my most creative with my own projects when I had the least creative jobs. When I was designing and being creative all day I was maxed out and for other people. I do some design now but basically I’m a rent-a-web-monkey for my contract work and my creativity is all on painting. That with the hours? You will have a full personal life that more than makes up for the rest IMHO. Plus low stress, for hopefully the pay you asked for might be an unbeatable deal right now. Cutie Pie company would have been mean girl hell, knowing a place won’t be that seems like good enough culture, perhaps.

Dream Job might be something you will magically have time and creative brain power to think up while you have this job?

Ginger Snap echopod ⋅ May 27, 2022

I love this comment, thank you! Yes, there may be something there - now I just have to wait and see!

Bre M May 27, 2022

Sometimes a change in careers is rewarding. My dad was on manufacturing for his entire life and he always told me that the challenge and the enjoyment of success put weighed all the negative. God luck!

plushcreep May 30, 2022

Much like an actual date, what's on the outside matters least!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.