Don't judge a book by it's cover in Stuff

  • May 26, 2022, 11:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t gone to work today. It probably doesn’t look good after having just had my three days off, but my back is literally too fucked. I woke up on time to get to work and realised that I would just be useless at work, so sent a message to my SM saying I won’t be in today and probably not tomorrow. I’m predicting that I might be mobile enough to do my weekend shifts, but who knows. He was empathetic (not like he has much of a choice) and to let him know how I go tomorrow. Of course I might be okay to go in tomorrow, but I think I know my body and right now, I’m not feeling it. I’ve been doing recommended stretches all morning, and walking around the apartment. I’ll go for a walk outside soon, as that helped me a lot a few days ago. They say swimming is best. There is a pool here but it will be fucking freezing right now, so I think I can rule that one out. It also says cycling is good. I can do that.

My outdoor sofa setting DID arrive yesterday. The intercom rang and I whinced in pain as I got up off the sofa to answer it quickly. Ergh, why. Anyway, it was my delivery, already! That only took 3 business days, compared to the WEEKS I was waiting for my orignal indoor sofa that I had to send back (let’s forget about that experience!). I had to go down to let them in and of course the lift took ages as heaps of people were getting in on the way down, but when it opened on the ground level, they were waiting for me with a trolley in tow, a guy and a lady, and they wheeled it up for me and carried it into the apartment for me. SO fucking thankful that I didn’t have to do THAT with my back fucked like it is.

I did however, have to put the five different pieces together. That wasn’t overly difficult, nor were they heavy to move (except the glass tabletop) but I was whincing in pain the entire way through. I even managed to clear all the cardboard away, and I now have a sofa setting outside, which is exciting. Now I just need to get some friends to make use of it HA. I’m unsure if my housemate has noticed it yet. I’ve configured it a few ways now but unsure of what I’ll settle on. I was thinking of going down to Bunnings for my walk to get some of that fake plant hedging stuff to use for privacy from the neighbours across. It’s a good distance walk to hopefully feel a little bit better. I think I will use the outdoor seating a lot more if I know/feel they aren’t looking across at me through the glass panels as much. I noticed a few ideas that others have from their neighbours across - people who live in the middle apartments have some plant privacy screens and such. It’s not like I can lug a potplant all the way back, at least until I’m healed up.

I was chatting with a friend’s ex last night, and we have chatted quite a few times from when they were dating to now, and I was surprised to find out how kinky this guy is. I had no idea! It’s always the one’s you least suspect haha. He said that my friend wasn’t kinky at all, but I kind of guessed that. I certainly didn’t guess him.
So that was interesting. I guess I was surprised. I joked with him, “You seem like the type a guy would take home to meet your mum - nek minute you’re in her son’s bedroom guzzling his cum.” He was like, “Sounds about right.”
He’s an attractive guy and we chatted about kinks and stuff, which basically went nowhere as I am so vanilla I may as well be icecream. Other than a little dom, that’d be my only thing really. I hardly think that constistutes for tying guys up or taking a dump on someone’s chest. Okay, I don’t think he goes that far. Certainly an eye-opening conversation after I spent a boring day in pain.

Oh U.S.A. Oh Texas. My heart breaks. Again. I just sound like a broken record. I’m not American, and I’m thankfully priviledged that my country has amazing gun reform ever since our horrific ‘96 massacre, when I was 12 years old. So it’s not my place and I don’t understand theirs, other than it being in the constituition. I can’t find the right words. It disappoints me time and time again that nothing ever gets done after each and every time this happens :( C’mon, the stubborn right-wing mentality surely has to change, right?
They were all so young. I just couldn’t imagine being a parent in the USA and sending my child to school, knowing it might be the last time I see them :(


Last updated May 26, 2022


nthaniel May 27, 2022

Things may be on the verge of the much-needed-for-many-years change. I am infuriated that children go to school, and instead of dessert or a drink with lunch, they may get a freakin' BULLET. More and more people seem to be demanding policy change, but the right wing still has such a strong hold here.

Fawkes Gal May 27, 2022 (edited May 27, 2022)

Edited

It really is horrible. My son was an infant when Sandy Hook happened and I remember clutching him to me and crying. Now that he's in school, it's in the back of my head every single day that I put him on the bus, that it's a possibility he couldn't come home. It's disgusting that this is the reality we live with. If changing countries were easier, and I didn't have so much family, I would honestly consider moving somewhere with better gun laws.

I hope your back feels better soon!

KissOfLife! Fawkes Gal ⋅ May 30, 2022

I'm so sorry you're made to feel that way :( I do hope some change happens soon.
And thankyou.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.