Funemployment Week #12 in These Foolish Things

  • May 24, 2022, 11:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Damn, bitches. I’m in Week #12 of unemployment. I know the news media is telling you that there are 1.9 jobs out there for every unemployed person, but not with my niche qualifications. I mean, yes, I did turn down a good-paying job that’s actually a great fit for my skills last month (The Cutie Pie Company), but I’m not sorry that I turned it down. I would have had to start yesterday, and I can’t imagine being all moved into a whole new city and being all discombobulated at the same time and knowing that the insurance/bennies were not a good fit. Just can’t right now - not with being less than a year out from cancer.

So I keep searching.

I do have a face-to-face interview tomorrow at a company that’s close to me, but likely not quite what I want to do. I talked with the HR rep for this company and told them that I wasn’t sure if my skills and experience match what the company is looking for, and he said, “Actually, the hiring manager thinks you are a fantastic candidate!”

So I will get dressed for a face-to-face and go. Kind of happy to have an in-person interview again. I like getting ready and going through those gyrations and meeting new connections - even though it’s nerve-wracking. It just means that I’m making some progress. We’ll see.

Yesterday I talked with the HR representative of another target company. She sounded super young and was clearly reading her questions from a script, so that made me a little nervous. She finally admitted that her first week was last week! I mean, you gotta start somewhere, right? But was I the first person she’s even spoken with? Will she handle my answers correctly and get me to the hiring manager? The person filling the role will report to the CMO (Chief Merchandising Officer) of this cool new retail concept. And I did see that the CMO has already looked at my LinkedIn profile. So, I’m hoping that will lead to a face-to-face interview with this company…that clearly fits me better than the company I’m interviewing with tomorrow.

And I was connected with another headhunter yesterday. She and I discussed a role with a company that’s about an hour drive away, and honestly, the pay is not quite there either. Bummer. But she told me that she will look for other opportunities for me.

And recently I was contacted by a woman I used to work with in a previous position (the job before my last one). We’ve talked a few times about me coming to work for her company. She contacted me a week or so ago asking me if I was still interested in a new position, and I said of course, but she never got back to me with a time to discuss. Is she ghosting me? Weird. SHE bright it up!

Oh, speaking of ghosting, I told you that my dream company ghosted me, right? The person I’d been speaking to (who reached out to ME, by the way) and communicating with several times just…poof…disappeared and never answered my emails back to her even though I KNOW she was getting them. What a dick.

I think I did write about that before, but I’m still just so peeved by that! She contacted ME several times and then didn’t have the balls to say that a different candidate was chosen? Why am I surprised by this?

Again, just like dating - it’s a NUMBERS game.

Soooooo. I’m going to get back to it now. I have other updates (about dating and other stuff), but I wanted to document Week #12 for now and then come back regarding the other tidbits.

I also need to decide what my “fun day” will consist of this week. It’ll be raining a little later today and I have stuff to accomplish tomorrow, so Thursday will likely be my day to get out and play. What should I do? Where should I go? The world is my oyster!!

Laters,
GS


Complicated Disaster May 24, 2022

That face-to-face interview sounds great. If the hiring manager likes you they can often tweak the role to fit your skillset better! xx

Jinn May 24, 2022

I love the idea of a fun day ! Hoping your job search turns up something great directly !

Deleted user May 24, 2022

Leisurely lunch at an outdoor cafe with your favorite mocktail and a paper book, maybe a slice of cake. That is my go-to that I haven't gone to but really should, though usually it's a raspberry martini and Death By Chocolate cake for me.

bobbi01 May 24, 2022

I'm so glad you are scheduling fun days. Looking for a new job is really hard work.

Athena May 24, 2022

And just as with dating, when they ghost you, it has nothing to do with you.

colder May 25, 2022

I think you are doing things well, playing the long game, not jumping into a situation that isn't the right fit when there really isn't pressure on you. Taking something you regretted, especially in a new city, and then wanting to extricate yourself from that situation later would be very stressful! I hope the right thing will be along soon!

WhatDreamsMayCome May 25, 2022

Find that pearl!

Perpetually Plump May 26, 2022

You are remarkably patient! The ghosting is weird and shitty and so unprofessional. People are going to people though. And HR is gonna be HR.

There are a boat ton of nursing jobs available. Except they want to pay $24/hour. Unless you're a travel nurse, and then you can get $90 plus whatever the travel agency is getting paid to supply you. Absolute shit show. So, yeah. 1.9 jobs, but how's the pay looking? Cuz I'm not going to be criminally prosecuted for a mistake for $24/hr.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.