Updates and Corrections in These Foolish Things

  • May 17, 2022, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Correction: In my last entry I wrote that July is National Cancer Survivors Month is July. It’s actually June. And getting more specific, National Cancer Survivors DAY is June 5th. I just sent an email to the woman in charge of the cancer support center to see how I can get more information on how to support other cancer patients. I’d love to somehow participate, be it for a walk/run, speaking, whatever. I feel like I want to get involved, so I’m finally in a place where I can reach out.

Thanks so much to the people on here who know and understand how contract work… works. I appreciate the comments and think that maybe there could be an opportunity somewhere down the road, but for this particular project, I can’t make the pay work out better than unemployment. Yes, it’s a bit more than I would make on unemployment, but honestly, to make it worth my time, I’d need about three more similar projects simultaneously, and I’d rather spend the time concentrating on getting my next gig rather than working on multiple projects and stressing about things. I just don’t want to put myself in a position where I can’t give 100% to what I’m doing. If it sounds like I’m copping out, well then, you can think what you want but I’m just not willing to squeeze so hard for so little juice.

I have filled tomorrow up with networking and brainstorming - one of the guys I worked with at the licensing company, lunch with a former co-worker who is going to work for one of my target companies, and then hopefully talk with a woman who’s gotten back in touch with me about working for her company!

Now I’m going to take a short walk in the heat with my dog.

Let’s go!
GS


bobbi01 May 17, 2022

Enjoy you dog walk :)

Fred May 17, 2022

So years ago when I was on unemployment and had occasional contracting work, I just declared the work in the weeks that I received payment, meaning that I wouldn’t get unemployment that week, but it wouldn’t cancel it all together. The next week I’d certify I hadn’t received pay for work and get it again. In fact it didn’t make any difference to how much unemployment I got in the end because it just extended the number of weeks I received it (eg same max dollar figure, longer period). Might be worth checking into to see if you can make it with the same way.

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ May 18, 2022

I get that, but the guy wants to pay me weekly (like a salary) for a set period of time.

Fred Ginger Snap ⋅ May 18, 2022

Oh, yeah, that definitely wouldn’t work then!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.