RAD: The Wanderer in These Foolish Things

  • May 12, 2022, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: The Wanderer

Introduction Platform: Tinder

Age: 64

Relationship Status: Divorced THREE times.

Job: Retired attorney, now traveling the globe many times over on boats and motorcycles.

Lives: My city, but only because his son lives here. Has lived here since last year at some point, but set out on a cross-country motorcycle adventure for a few months, so…not sure how long really.

Length of Date: Hour and a half

We Did: Coffee at the cool coffee shop around the corner. Funny, I was there the day before with CD as well, and I know the barista remembers me from then and when I met my financial advisor there and brought my dog inside. She’d told me that dogs aren’t allowed inside and I told her that Martini is a service dog. Since then, I’ve shown up with different men every time I’ve been back. Sometimes I’ve brought my dog, other times I’ve been without her.

He Looked: He’d ridden his motorcycle over (doesn’t own a car), and was wearing a leather motorcycle jacket, jeans and a nondescript shirt. I say “nondescript” because I couldn’t see it underneath his jacket. I am pretty sure he was wearing biker boots, but he doesn’t look like your typical biker…he’s 5’ 10” and clean cut. Sandy brown hair, blue eyes, friendly smile.

I Looked: Well, I think I looked pretty if I do say so myself. I did a kind of special little wave thing to my hair that framed my face. I wore a body-skimming sundress that I normally wear a tank top under. This time I wore it without the tank so it was a little sexier. Cute, wedge sandals and minimal jewelry. Light daytime makeup. My pics on Tinder are not that current since I haven’t been on the app in a few years. I’d say they are three years old and I confessed to that during our initial small talk and The Wanderer told me that I look far better in person than in my photos and that made me feel good.

Convo: Getting-to-know-yous. He asked a lot of questions about me. I already knew a lot about him through the many, many vlogs he’s posted on YouTube. He’s sailed the Atlantic several times and has taken a few cross-country motorcycle trips and has recorded it all on videos he’s posted. I’d spent about 90 minutes viewing parts of his videos and I felt like knew quite a bit about him. We talked about what we’re looking for to a brief extent. The guy has a massive wanderlust gene that I find thrilling, but I’ll be honest, I’d love to find someone who’d prefer to keep a home base and travel from there. I don’t think this guy is ever going to want to settle in one place. In fact, he loves living on a boat…which is essentially not even having his two feet on the ground! Still, I like the stories and I’d like to hear more - even if it’s just a dinner conversation and a walk.

High Point: He kept telling me how beautiful I am. I know, ego. But I did tell him about all of my medical traumas of the past three years and he really couldn’t believe it. Quite honestly, I can’t believe it either, ha!

Low Point: Not really a point in particular for me. I know what I’d be getting into with this guy. I think the low point for him might be that I told him I’m not as much into the ocean as he is. I prefer to have my feet on the ground. My idea of adventure is walking into new and exciting scenarios, whereas he’d prefer to sail into uncharted waters.

How It Ended: He asked me if I wanted to meet “Alice”, his motorcycle. I said sure! We had to walk past Mini Pearl 2 on the way to see Alice, so I introduced him to her! And then Alice - she’s a small British motorcycle, petite and polite-looking. I can’t believe he’s spent days and months on her, riding to so many places. I’ve taken a long trip with Sexy Pants on the back of his Harley, to New Orleans and back and SP’s motorcycle was much, much bigger and cushier. And even that was kind of a beating after 8+ hour rides. I digress! The Wanderer introduced me and then wanted to see if we’d fit dancing together, so he took my hand and did this little slow dance thing in the parking lot in broad daylight! On the one hand, I found it charming…on the other hand, it was a little odd because we were in the most unromantic setting. He then asked if he could have a kiss and we did a little peck thing and said goodbye.

Chances Are: Well, he asked to see me again right then and there - BONUS POINTS! I told him that I’d like to see him again for sure! He then asked if it would be awkward to invite me to his place for dinner or if I’d rather go to a restaurant. I told him that I’d rather meet him at a restaurant. I’m not sure if I felt sparks. I didn’t tell him that - but I’d rather not be in that position, you know? So, we said our goodbyes and he later sent me a message asking me if I’d like to meet him at one of my favorite restaurants! I was pleased and I said yes, so Friday evening it is!

Date Rating: B. It was a lovely coffee date and we’ve confirmed a second! Not sure if this will lead to anything, but I’m happy for the company.


Jinn May 12, 2022

Sounds promising …

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ May 12, 2022

Not really, but I'm happy to be doing something, even if not working towards a necessarily promising relationship.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ May 12, 2022

❤️

Complicated Disaster May 12, 2022

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh!! Possibilities!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ May 12, 2022

haha! We'll see...

Skeletor May 12, 2022 (edited May 12, 2022)

Edited

Random noter, passing through. edited the 'nice job' comment only

So Tinder actually CAN yield a date! Yay! There's hope.
I am uncertain as to your age, or as to your taste in the age of a partner, but his age is definitely up there.
I wouldn't judge him solely by his number of marriages or divorces; rather I'd judge him more how he talks about his exes and how his conduct has been in a relationship. If he's always a victim and women suck and he is always on the run from consequences, then that's a lot of... what's the 21st century term people like to use now. Red flags? There we go. I hate that term, because I feel like it's too oversimplified, but I hope you get the gist of what I'm saying.
He has a nice former job and current parachute, and it sounds like he's definitely more into the 'enjoy the spoils' and 'live carefree' side of life. Definitely doesn't want anything tying him down, it seems; also read - do not tie self down to him.
If he's a big road-tripper and boater, he will absolutely be away a lot, and at his age he probably won't check his phone unless he absolutely wants to/has to; also read - do not tie self down to him.
It sounds like he was very into you, though. And it sounds like you both had fun.
My synopsis of what you're putting down is, if you're looking for some temporary thrills with a carefree no nonsense no commitment salt-and-pepper daddy, he might be a catch. Yes you'll have to throw it back in the ocean (pun maybe intended?) but, you can have some blasts and keep your communication and expectations totally above board.

Ginger Snap Skeletor ⋅ May 12, 2022

Thanks so much for your random note!

Yes, I guess Tinder can yield a date, ha! And he's older but so am I. He's a little older than I normally date, but he's a TON more adventurous. And I agree, temporary fun, but this dude isn't planting roots.

Skeletor Ginger Snap ⋅ May 12, 2022

Hooray for fun, no matter the amount :D

bobbi01 May 12, 2022

Probs not a long termer, but he certainly sounds like fun. And certainly not boring.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ May 12, 2022

Fun and NOT boring for sure~!

Deleted user May 12, 2022

Sounds like fun!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ May 12, 2022

Kinda fun, yes!

WhatDreamsMayCome May 13, 2022 (edited May 13, 2022)

Edited

In my experience, the reality of the road trip is a far cry from any romance that might inspire any such undertaking.
But I’m jealous of his sailing!
Mister ‘right now’ can certainly work!
😉

plushcreep May 13, 2022

Not bad! My ex had a waterbed when we first met, so the boat is a definite turnoff for me. Too many negative memories.

colder May 14, 2022

As someone who rode small british motorcycles I approve of those! But I see there's a follow-up entry so... I'm off to it

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.