May-A-Thon in Thirty-Seven

  • May 11, 2022, 6:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey friends, how are we all doing this May day? It’s been windy as all get out for the last, well like 4 months. It’s really annoying. Especially because half of the state is on fire at the moment. It’s getting really close to Taos, which is where my mom is from/buried, and where we are taking my dad to in June.

Let me back up though, so yeah....we had gotten notice that our case had actually been set for a hearing, on May 27th. So we were freaking out, and I was like well we won’t have any money to go to Taos with, etc. My brother’s offered to pay if I went by myself and I told them no because of holding it over my head, etc. and that Randy wants to go because my dad was his dad very much more than his own dad has been for the last 10 years.

So, I told them they would have to take dad up there, do whatever and Randy and I would go eventually when we got our money, so we could afford everything. And they were just like well you don’t want to go? I’m like of COURSE I want to go, my god. I just explained, yet again, that I would rather not have outside help paying for shit if it’s going to be thrown in my face.

Fast forward a few days, I can’t remember which day it was, the date isn’t important, but I’m going to say, last Wednesday. Our attorney, we’ll call her Kathleen. Kathleen called and said “The order was signed today.” like WHAT? So fuck yeah we were all excited, making all these plans on how we could go to Home Depot and look at building materials to fix the bathroom, then the back bedroom.

I was telling my brothers how it got signed, etc. We had to buy some cleaning supplies because I was almost out of dish soap and laundry soap, and we needed shampoo and body wash, so we figured, ok, the order is signed, we should be good here in about a week.

Following morning we get up and diddle around. Kathleen calls again. Says....yeah, so the order was signed by mistake. A Judicial Assistant “absentmindedly” signed it because it was with a stack of papers that needed to be signed. So when the judge got it to sign or something, he rejected it because he needed clarification on something.

The attorney asked what needed clarification, and the JA just said “that’s what the hearing is for”. OMG. It has been a royal fucking nightmare.

I was on the verge of losing my gas, my electricity, and I did end up canceling my neurologist appointment in Las Cruces on the 17th because I knew we weren’t going to have the money for gas or anything. So I will have to reschedule that.

It’s just really fucking frustrating that everything has taken SO damn long. But, the attorney was able to get us another advance on the money, and so we were able to pay those bills and have some leftover for the trip. HOPEFULLY, once the hearing happens, they release the funds and we have the money within a couple days. That way we don’t have to worry about ANYTHING.

But, I don’t see that happening. I have a feeling something is going to come up and they’re going to be like well this money isn’t yours, so pay everything back. Then we will be royally screwed, because we’ve already used $11k to pay off the car. So, fuck me running, I swear if one more bad thing happens, I don’t really know what we are going to do.

I am about a year and a half or so away from being able to work again, I feel. In the past, it’s been “5 years i can go back to work” because I was switching meds so often. Then I found the combination that worked so fucking well. And then COVID made it so I couldn’t get it.

NOW, I’m waiting for a referral. I’m back on two of the three-part combination. I just need that gloriously expensive bag of juice every $28 days. Once we get my dad taken care of, I will have a better grip on where we are with things, so I can schedule things better.

Anyway, that is where we are at right now. A few friends have sent me laundry soap and baking soda, menstrual cups, some paper towel, dawn power spray and brillo pads lol. I’m working at getting the kitchen clean and keeping up with it, but fuck my life it’s been hard.

Doing ok though. Hopefully things will work out by the end of the month and we will be good to go for that week in June. Brother A could only get June 6-8 off, so we are going up the 6th, burying him the 7th and then heading home on the 8th. Most likely anyway, we’ll see what all happens between now and then lol.

The rattie babies are all doing amazingly and getting bigger by the day. I weighed them all and they range from 653 grams to 88 grams. haha. The babies are 3 months old.

Alrighty, that’s all friends, have a good one.


Last updated August 18, 2022


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.