Socials in Adventures in paradise

  • May 2, 2022, 9:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ergh, just wrote most of an entry and lost it all, so not sure what’s doing on with that whole ‘save automatic draft thing’ Prosebox usually has, but oh well. Start again.

I was hoping the social events from the weekend would be over before I’d even attended the first one! My social anxiety was pretty damn high, but that’s nothing unusual. Anyway, I worked (and Dan was in shopping, and I always love chatting to him) and went to gym and caught up with Kristy afterward, as she was celebrating her new job with a group of new teammates that she’d just met. The place was packed, and a huge outdoor venue, so that’s good for Covid-safety I suppose, but I was wearing my mask anyway, but I took it off when I finally found where Kristy was, and she screamed and gave me a big hug when she saw me. I hadn’t seen her in so long, and it was good to catch up briefly. She’d kept mentioning some guy named Tim to me over messenger, it it turns out this Tim guy was a part of the group she was with, and is apparently one of my Facebook friends, but I had no idea who he was. She was like, “Recognise anyone?” and I had to say that I didn’t know who half the people on my Facebook list even were. A lot have just been random adds over the years who I’ve never spoken a word to and vice-versa. I really should do a cull, but it’s just too much effort these days I think.
I didn’t sit down, even though there was a spare seat for me, and it was probably next to Tim now that I think about it.
Anyway, it was nice to catch up and goss a little bit. Apparently her son is taller than me now. It was good to see her out and about, having some me-time. We parted ways and I headed home, waving goodbye to everyone, but we hadn’t really even been introduced and everyone was engaged in conversation, so I was just ignored and left. No big deal to me.
I was just glad to get home and have one ‘event’ over with, as brief as it was.

The next day I worked again, but had no time to gym, so just went home, showered, took a RAT test to make sure (all good!), changed into my new outfit I bought, and left again. Thankfully the venue Rhys and Luke had booked was only a short work from my place. I recognised the street name as being nearby, but I hadn’t been to that venue before. It was very nice. Seemed like an artsy space, but had a bar.
I asked the photographer is this was Rhys and Luke’s engagement party, and he confirmed it was, but that I wasn’t allowed past without a photo. So I had to walk the red carpet and do a pose. I decided on a left-handed thumbs up, you know, because I’m a fucking awkward idiot, so I’m suuuure I’m going to look ridiculous in the photo, whenever that shows up haha.

I saw Moe and Ben in their cute suits, and Steve was in a polo, kind of like mine but with a logo. We had many laughs, including about the Dobbledok (which was a 90’s mascot for a chip/crisp company in the 90’s) and how freaky it was, as Ben is too young to have even heard of it.
I didn’t even get to talk to Luke, other than to feel up his red velvet pants whilst he was chatting to Steve, and he seemed quite drunk anyway, but I grabbed Rhys and got a selfie with him which thankfully turned out okay.

I ended up meeting a few guys - Mae, Ollie and Bray. Mae and Bray knew Rhys, and Ollie knew Luke. I think I got that right. I briefly saw Ivan, but we didn’t chat. So much for him wanting to get ready at my place beforehand. There was a built Asian guy at the event who was probably the only guy I thought was hot there (although Mae was kinda cute too), but apparently the white guy with him was his boyfriend haha. No picking up at the engagement party, Matt!
I ended up leaving after my friend-group did, and gave Rhys another hug, and he apologised for not chatting to me as much as he wanted to. I was just like, “We can chat anytime”, and gave him a kiss on the cheek and waved goodbye to the others I’d just met, and made my way back home.

By that point I was glad I had most of the events done with haha. But yeah, big one tomorrow (Sunday).

It was busy at work, as I knew it would be. I didn’t take my mask off all day, and left on time. I’d brought my gym bag with me, as I definitely didn’t have time to go home this time. I chickended out of wearing the short shorts though, mainly because I still had to get from the gym to Big Gay Day without getting my head punched in, and I don’t have any friends to go with or keep my company, so I just wore the crop-top, the mesh shirt over it, and the long pants. Oh well. It was dark by that point anyway (I noticed as I was leaving work at 5:30pm) as it gets dark earlier as he head into Winter here.

Big Gay Day was fun though. Got my wristband and it took a little while to find Andrew. He had already found Cam and Ryan, so it was great to see them again. Cam was with some guy named Jesse, and I found out from Ryan that they might be a thing, so oolala. Cam’s arm muscles are looking huge, but they always have. Things with Ryan are going well - so much so that he’s moving soon to New Zealand to be with his boyfriend! Wowie. He said he is closing the comedy festival here at the end of the month and I said I’d love to come to his show, where he said he’ll introduce me to his boyfriend after the show, so that’s nice.
I also briefly ran into Rob (who shops at my work sometimes) and was interested to find out that he and Ryan used to “compete for twinks” at the club back in the day. It was cute to see them laughing about it now.
I also saw the gorgeous Chris, who I never see around anymore, even on his socials. He was with some tall blonde boy (no surprise there haha) but I was surprised after I waved at him that he came over and started chatting to me, so that was really nice. I’ve always liked Chris as a person, and he’s always been very friendly to me. I told him that he still looked like he was 18 and he was like, “Oh stop, no keep going, keep going” hahaha.
Later in the night, after Vanessa Amorosi performed (her microphone wasn’t working properly, which was SUCH a shame, as she has such a powerful voice, but then again I could still hear her and probably would have been deaf if it had been), as the crowd was departing, I saw Daniel, who was my first ever boyfriend hahaha. My God, did not expect to see him there, as he’s not from here. He was with some guy, who I assumed was his partner, and he introduced me to him as knowing me from Pittsworth LOL. The guy was like, “Pittsworth!?”, like he couldn’t believe it. Yup, us county gays do exist.

So yeah, Big Gay Day was pretty good this year, as I had only attended for a few hours of it, which I prefer anyway, and they sold a drink I actually like (ginger beer) on tap, so I was slightly buzzed off that.

Anyway, here’s some more piccies. The group selfies turned out blurry as fuck but oh well.

Andrew was trying to get a pic of me with the cute twink in the skirt haha
)

The only one with Jesse in it - fail

It didn’t get much better

And later, just a Snapchat walking home, after I returned to the gym and changed


Last updated May 02, 2022


Fawkes Gal May 03, 2022

I feel like every day should be Big Gay Day.

kmh. May 04, 2022

You look great! I'm glad you had a good time :) and good on you for battling through the social anxiety to get there.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.