Offer Update* in These Foolish Things

  • April 27, 2022, noon
  • |
  • Public

Updates Below!

This morning I sent in my “thanks but no thanks” email to the Cutie Pie Company. It was a thoughtful email thanking them for how much time they’ve put into interviewing me and making sure I was a good fit, but I explained that the job has to be a good fit for me as well.

Now, the young owner has come back with a reply asking me if I would have another conversation with her about how much I REALLY want, and I’m just like uggghhhhhh. I don’t want to have another conversation! I really don’t. I’ve kind of talked myself out of the whole deal (with your helpful thoughts, I might add), and now I just want to move on.

Because I think she’d now have to come up a WHOLE LOT and even then, I don’t know if I want to work in a mean girl company! Do I talk? What if she offers me the $15k that was the bottom of my acceptance? Is she calling my bluff?

Sigh,
GS

Update: I just wrote Cutie Pie CEO back and told her I would be available to have another conversation on Friday (she wanted to talk today, but I am just not up for it and fuck it, I don’t have to, ya know?). If she says she’s good to talk on Friday, I’ll be in a better headspace for stating my case. If she can’t wait (and I understand if she can’t), no loss for me - I’ve already turned the job down! I’m not trying to make it messy or draw it out, but making her wait might be the end of it.

I do have another interview with the president of another company on Friday morning at 8am, so I know I’ll be in that headspace and I want to talk with him first anyway and THEN see what she has to say. And I’ll have all of my stuff written out and ready.

Is this exciting or is it excruciating? I’m just not sure!


Last updated April 27, 2022


Lux Lunae April 27, 2022

I agree with Elaine, but at the same time, I'd honour that gut feeling you're having. Something better is on the horizon for you.

bobbi01 April 27, 2022

I'd be suspicious of mean girls bearing offers. I feel like it reflects the company culture, you would have to fight to get anything.

Nash April 27, 2022

Someone else beat me to it. They did not offer you lunch. Even if they meet all your demands they are going to search for ways to short you from now until they fire you and every time you use a benefit it will be scrutinized. Move on.

Complicated Disaster April 27, 2022

I'm just going to cut to the chase and say that this sounds like a terrible company to work for. You'll end up having to fight for everything. Don't do it! Xx

Deleted user April 27, 2022

It shouldn't be this hard. At this point both sides will be putting high expectations on the other for all the effort that has put into this so far, and frankly, they insulted you with their lowballing to begin with. Hard pass.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ April 28, 2022

Yeah, it really shouldn't be this hard. As someone who is used to difficult relationships both personally and professionally, this feels almost normal, when I know it shouldn't!

MightyZeus April 27, 2022

I've been on both sides of this conversation, and your previous entry had a lot of red flags for me. If you're having to fight this hard for what you're worth, it's going to be an uphill battle for all times. You don't want to have to fight everything you deserve in your job.

I've also been in "boss'" shoes and it's also really draining when your associates are asking for more, especially when you can't really do anything about it. Then there's the fear that if you give in to one person, you will have to have the same fight with other associates.

bottom line, lots of red flags, don't let them talk you into settling. Good LUck!

Ginger Snap MightyZeus ⋅ April 29, 2022

Totally understand about draining, but the thing is, I have to ask for what I need upfront. Otherwise it will be a fight to scratch and claw my way up...and we know that ain't happening, so. I have a bad taste all around.

Jinn April 28, 2022 (edited April 28, 2022)

Edited

I concur with the majority. Cutie Pie Company does not have the right mindset ; no lunch, no mileage , does not like people having to be off and inadequate salary . I would listen to her offer but know it wouldn’t be your choice unless you feel you have no other options.
Good luck 🍀!

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ April 29, 2022

Yeah, I'm going to listen to her today, but will decline regardless.

WhatDreamsMayCome April 28, 2022

Wait for better!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ April 29, 2022

Yeah. I've totally made up my mind on this one.

plushcreep April 29, 2022

It never hurts to hear what she's got to say...especially since they have invested a lot into interviewing you (just not lunch...ahem). No, you don't owe anybody anything. But I'd at least listen to their new pitch.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.