44 in The art of being lazy

  • April 21, 2022, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I turn 44 tomorrow…yikes. Where did the time go? I ask myself that all the time. I have always been a late bloomer, period at 19, first kiss 21, married at 40.. so on an so forth. For a few years I have been worried about my job, the gym industry (for new readers I manage a gym) has been rough with shut downs, mandates, etc. I also live in a small town, it was never suited for two gyms. Anytime fitness was our main competition and for years the owners have just broke even. However things started to turn around for us earlier this year, our numbers came back to pre pandemic numbers. I helped talk the owner into purchasing the next door unit and expanding the gym as we started getting busy.

I work for two awesome guys and they decided to go for it and so we began planning an expansion and then we got even better news. Now before anyone rips me, I hate for people to loose their jobs and even worse loose a business but our main competitors Anytime fitness are closing at the end of this month.

What does that mean for me, well more members… which means after five years a much needed raise and although we will be busier than snot more members and more responsibility which I am ready for. My bosses live out of town, one only comes into town 4-5 weeks at a time. The other one rarely comes to visit which means, your girl is practically the owner. I handle everything, which I dont complain about. I love my job and I am so glad I get to do this for many more years.

Anyway that being said I do need a few days away so the hubby and I are taking off after work tomorrow and I am staying two nights in a newish hotel on the Vegas strip. It is only a good 30 minute trip away but hey,m a vacation is a vacation!


NeonLady April 21, 2022

Happy birthday and enjoy your vacation! :)

I get it, you don't want people to lose work but I agree, good news for you and your gym! Exciting about the expansion!

Dancing.Shadow April 21, 2022

Happy birthday and congratulations! How exciting!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.