#TMIFiles: Update to the Trifecta Scares in These Foolish Things

  • April 5, 2022, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was all doc appointments, all day.

I had a physical starting at 8am (needed to be there by 7:45), so I dropped Martini off at her old doggy daycare because they open at 7am) and go to the doc office by 7:35). Had my laundry list of things to discuss during physical and my PCP ordered an x-ray of my lower back and right leg (been having some issues that may be chemo-related lingering side effects or something else).

And had to get bloodwork done.

I could tell before she even started, that the nurse was not going to be able to draw blood. I asked for a butterfly needle and warned her that I’m not an easy draw and I think that made her nervous. She poked and prodded around my veins and finally confessed that the person who usually draws blood was out of the office and that she was likely going to leave a nasty bruise. And then she just gave up! She told me that she’d send out what she was able to draw (luckily, she got some) and let me know if I needed to come back. Um, nope. I’m not going to come back!

And yes, I have a nasty bruise.

And then the x-rays where I met the most talkative x-ray tech in the world! She was adorable and doing a great job, but I was exhausted after the dozen or so images she took. I could barely keep up my side of the conversation!

Then I had a little break before I needed to get my follow-up mammo and ultrasound of “Lefty”. So I headed to the shopping district closeby.

Of course I did.

Three sundresses (they are sooooooo cute and Spring is officially here!), a pair of flip flops, lunch and a Starbucks later and I was back to the doc offices.

The mammo part was making me super nervous. Like, sick to my stomach nervous. So after I was called into the changing room and before the mammogram, I called on my angels for support. And there they were, wrapping their arms around me and comforting me. I know it sounds crazy, but I felt the presence and felt confident that it was going to be just fine.

When the tech came in and was like, welcome back and that the doctor was behind the scenes and would read the screening immediately to let the tech know if she needed to take more scans, and then ultimately if they needed to send me to get an ultrasound (which I didn’t know was optional - I guess if they still can’t figure things out and if something looks suspicious, they’ll then send you and your boobs over to another place for an ultrasound).

I showed her some places of skin on Lefty that might have been the cause of all of the issues, and she said that she thought I was right (!) and placed a sticker on a mole that I have on the top of ol’ Lefty, calling that sucker out!

And after multiple squishes and squeezes and awkward stances and breath holding, I was sent back to the dressing room to wait for the results.

I felt almost sweaty, and they don’t allow you to wear deoderant, so…

But after about 5 minutes, the tech came back with a piece of paper and said, “You’re done! You’re good! That mole was exactly what we were seeing on the mammogram!”

And relief washed over me.

I got dressed and went back to the car and checked my email from there and saw the the results from my well-woman (pap) were back too…and those results read ALL CLEAR as well!

So!! While yesterday was a little exhausting (lots of triggering conversations and thoughts all day long), it was soooooo good to hear that I’m still cancer free in all of my lady bits AND my bum/digestive tract!

The only thing left is the hip/leg/lumbar thing and I got a call first thing this morning that the x-ray results were back and I’m all healthy! In fact, better than most at my age - he said my x-rays were quite remarkable that there was no sign of wear and tear to my spine, hip and leg! No stones, no growths, no nothing!

So for the ache and soreness in my hips and leg, he recommended hip flexor stretches and just to keep up the walking and keep going! All is well! All is healthy!

THANK YOU, ANGELS!!! And fuck you, cancer!
GS


bobbi01 April 05, 2022

Such a stressful day for you, but a fantastic outcome. Sincere thanks to your angels.

sparklespeterson April 05, 2022

I'm so happy for you!

Ginger Snap sparklespeterson ⋅ April 05, 2022

THANK YOU!

colder April 05, 2022

Yes! Such good news! Who are your angels?

Sooo glad you got this triumphant day and that there was no nervous waiting for any results or reads or anything else!

Woohoo!

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ April 05, 2022

My angels are so random. They show up through people (strangers) when I least expect them and they show up invisibly when I absolutely and desperately need them. I can feel their presence. They are likely here constantly, but I really feel them in times of need.

Jinn April 05, 2022

Yeah for being healthy !!!! It’s the best kind of riches !

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ April 05, 2022

You are so right, Jinn. I feel incredibly wealthy right now!

Florentine April 05, 2022

Hurrah! This is all such good news, and I bet it feels amazing turning the corner into spring with a clean bill of health. Wear the hell outta those sundresses! 🎉

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ April 05, 2022

Amazing, amazing, amazing! And yes, now is the time for sundresses!

Complicated Disaster April 05, 2022

<3 <3 <3
Such happy news! And how cool to be prescribed walking!!
xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 05, 2022

Yep! It's such a good feeling!

Parliament April 05, 2022

I'm so happy for you, honey.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ April 05, 2022

Thanks, babe!

CharminglyNeurotic April 05, 2022

Are you all recovered from the brain issues (aneurysm) from the year before?

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ April 05, 2022

I still have the aneurysm. We check it annually to make sure it is stable. I had a brain/head/neck scan last July when I was having weird and scary symptoms in my head due to chemo, and all was stable at that time, so we'll do another scan in July.

CharminglyNeurotic Ginger Snap ⋅ April 05, 2022

Glad to hear all is stable!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.