OTHER PEOPLE'S STUFF in Postcards 4

  • April 4, 2022, 1:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

Many others are much like George and I, living in a house of other peoples stuff. With me it began when furniture became out of my price range. The biggest problem was when someone in the 1960’s gave me a sofa and chair that were white, I loved them. I never wanted to lose them. They were mine for life.

So that started my biggest problem…white furniture in the living room. Slipcovers were me.

Wrinkles didn’t matter. Art and color did matter. Silly me. Every room was wall to wall white and care. But….this time when I can home from the hospital, I just let it all build up into chaos. I didn’t have the energy or stamina to straighten it all up again. You’d laugh at me.

alt text

In the bedroom, the bookcase was Harriette’s, the chair my Grandpa’s. In the living room one lamp was grandmas, the other was Ducks, but I must admit that the sofa came from IK EA as did the footstool. George paid for them. No finding them in the alley.

Today I am tackling my closet. It should have neatly arranged rows of stuff by color just waiting for me to climb into them. Here, my fault again, I have been putting rejects back in and filling up the gaps. Oh Dear.


Last updated April 04, 2022


Jinn April 05, 2022

My house has always been donated and Thrift decor except for the sofa , my chair and our bed. Every other piece was used when I bought it and I like all of it still. Some I painted. Some I still plan to paint eventually . A lot of plans I had for improving decor went by the wayside when I could hardly bear to move. That is getting better now so I need to get going on my projects :-) Your place always looks lovely to me !

MageB Jinn ⋅ April 06, 2022

Overstuffed.

Jinn MageB ⋅ April 06, 2022

I think I like overstuffed. I am not a minimalist :-)

gattaca April 05, 2022 (edited April 05, 2022)

Edited

My home's decor if 1/3 thrift, 1/3 electronics, 1/3 dog toys and 1/3 knick-knacks.
I'm aware that's 4/3. I have too much stuff in my house.

NorthernSeeker April 05, 2022

All those things are yours now. They were gifted which makes them the best kind of furniture.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.