Was that a Date or No? in These Foolish Things

  • April 2, 2022, 9:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, to continue where we left off from last entry, Captain K picked me up in the fancy Tesla since he told me that he didn’t like flying into the little airport near my apartment. It was early. 6pm.

He then drove us over to the lobster house where he did in fact have a reservation, but for some reason there was something weird going on - I think he just spoke so low that the guy who sat us maybe didn’t even hear what he said. The Maitre d kept telling us we should go have a drink at the bar and that we couldn’t be seated yet…unless we wanted to sit over at a table next to the bar?

Sure. We’ll sit by the bar. This was a little hole-in-the-wall place, so any seat in the house was like being in the middle of all the action.

I know Cap’n K wanted us to be there early before the crowd. The place was picking up quickly and getting SUPER loud.

Bottom line is that we did have a great seat in the place, but it was loud and Cap’n K does not speak loudly. Ever hear those pilots who come on the intercom and speak low and mumbly and you can’t understand what they are saying? Yeah. That.

We ordered massive lobster tails. Massive. The biggest lobster tails I’ve ever seen.

Dinner was fantastic. Our conversation was less so.

Between his mumbles and showing me photos of airplanes non-stop, I’m just not sure.

And frankly, I’m no better. As someone who has barely done anything besides handling medical traumas and getting laid off over the past three years, I don’t have much to say if it doesn’t include medication, hospitals or isolation.

There was nothing planned after dinner, so he let me drive the Tesla home (that was cool, I’ve never driven one before!) and I was home by 8:30!!

What was that?!
GS


Amaryllis April 02, 2022

Reminds me of the 'low talker' on Seinfeld. 😂

Jinn April 03, 2022

I have a hard time hearing people with low voices . It gets annoying to them and me if I keep asking what they said :-(
Taking you out for lobster was pretty good . No plans for after dinner was kind of lame. Still if he was nice and it was relaxed then being home and relaxing by 8:45 is fine . If he calls you for dinner again , then it was a date :-)

colder April 03, 2022 (edited April 03, 2022)

Edited

Ah, I have a lower voice, and I can get drowned out in those loud restaurant situations. It's uncomfortable because I don't want to be seen as a LOUD person. I have to be loud to be heard over the restaurant murmur, but when I'm loud the whole place can hear me!

At least it was a good dinner?

Athena April 03, 2022

It was dinner. I think that's it.

bobbi01 April 03, 2022

I don't enjoy a noisy restaurant any more. Ok for a bar, but not so much for sitting across the table trying to have a convo. My friend has a Tesla. I feel like I am in the starship enterprise in that thing!

plushcreep April 03, 2022

Well. you got to drive a Tesla. There's that!

Complicated Disaster April 04, 2022

I feel you need to move from getting laid off to just getting laid!! lol xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.