Gimpa's Morris Chair in Postcards 4

  • April 1, 2022, 2:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text)

We have two Morris Chairs. Actually. Since we have so much furniture and so little room, we lent the Morris rocker to Margot. That leaves us with Gimpa’s chair. When I was growing up, it lived in a corner of Gimpa’s bedroom. When mother moved out of number 20, I inherited the chair. It’s two, tired blue velvet cushions cradled me through many college years as they did my grandfather.

Yesterday in my continual mindless state, I wandered into an essay on William Morris https://cheznamastenancy.blogspot.com/2022/03/william-morris-arts-crafts.html on Chez Namaste Nancy’s blog. First I read her page then wandered to a link that caught my eye. This probably happens to you too, The Red House !

[https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/red-house]alt text)

Only after an afternoon of puttering through the William Morris sites did I become aware that Gimpa’s chair wasn’t a true representative of the “Arts and Crafts” Movement that Morris began. A true chair of this period would have solid slats to hold up the arms. A simple construction. The legs would have been straight, and the cushions leather. In America, the Stickley family made the best examples of the Arts and Crafts chair.

https://a.1stdibscdn.com/stickley-bros-attributed-slatted-morris-chair-for-sale/1121189/f_201335021597468101043/20133502_master.jpg?disable=upscale&auto=webp&quality=60&width=1318

Family stories say that this chair was bought to go to college with Gimpa. It comes apart into a flat package suitable for shipping. Gimpa’s chair has turned supports for the arms. The legs have an almost Queen Anne curve with small feet at the floor. The straight arms have been replaced by wood that’s been carved to a comfortable place to rest your arm. The only part that’s left to say was William Morris influenced was the adjustable back. Curved slots have been cut in the back of the arms, and a brass rod stops the back from moving.

alt text

I like the Arts and Crafts Movement. I liked it even more when I inherited a large box of William Morris fabrics. Someone bought yards of these delightful prints and didn’t use them. I did. I must admit that it took me two years to cut and sew all the blocks, but eventually I got it done. Perhaps yellow wasn’t the best of accent colors, but it’s a warm quilt.

alt text)


Last updated April 03, 2022


elaine2 April 01, 2022

The blue/yellow mix is gorgeous.

Jinn April 01, 2022

Lovely chair and I love the quilt too !

gattaca April 02, 2022

Gimpa's chair is a masterpiece.
I LOVE Morris chairs. I have 2 now.

NorthernSeeker April 03, 2022

The accent colour of the quilt with the blue are the colours of the Ukrainian flag. It's a popular combo lately. The chair is beautiful and has so much family history.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.