processing... in 2022

Revised: 05/07/2022 4:33 p.m.

  • March 30, 2022, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

March 19, 2022
16:03

I wish I had more time to write today. I probably should have started this earlier. oops. But I just now realized that I have important things coming up and I haven’t documented them anywhere.

Well, I heard back from the doc [well his assistant] and she set me up with an appointment for an EKG this coming Monday. I already had an appointment scheduled with my rheumatologist so it made sense to do both at once. It’s an hour away and I’m not good at the driving thing so yeah. Kill two birds with one stone.


3/28/22 14:55

Ok, so updates. I never got a chance to finish the above entry or even post what I had. Results are in and things have changed.

To backtrack a bit: EC ended up taking me to my appointments, which was super kind and incredibly sweet. He even took the whole day off so he wouldn’t have to worry about rushing us home so he could go to work. I didn’t think my appointments would take long, but I wasn’t sure on the exact timing. [Also didn’t think I’d ever have a man that would do some thing like that for me. Such a simple gesture that means so much]

My appointments were scheduled back to back. One at 9am and the other at 10am. The locations are only about a 5 minute drive apart.


Hmm, looks like it’s been another two days since I attempted to write here. This is the third time I’ve had to restart this entry because I just can’t seem to find the time to finish it. I wonder if I’ll be able to pull it together today.

I guess I should do a long story short thing:
So EC spent the night at the house on Sunday. That was really nice! I like having him around on Sundays. We got to enjoy one of our shows together [I got him into trashy TV! yay] and we didn’t have to pack him up early to head home.

The next morning he woke up before me and made a valiant attempt at waking me up but I fell back to sleep and then was running a couple minutes late. We skipped breakfast and took off. Except EC was taking his sweet time getting into the car, and then taking a phone call, and ugh let’s go!

We got most of the way to my appointment and we were cutting time a little close but we were going to make it. Then I looked something up on my GPS and uhh that’s a lot of red traffic lines.

A few minutes later we creep up to a line of backed up cars and suddenly my phone says it’ll take at least 45 minutes to go about 5 miles down the road. Fudge! I check again and it jumps up to almost an hour. At this point I have about 15 minutes to get to my appointment. So I call them and ask if I should reschedule. I’m never late to appointments so I start to panic, especially when I remember that I couldn’t schedule for later in the day because they don’t have openings after my 10 o’clock. Basically I’m thinking I’m screwed and will have to make another trip all the way out there. The person I spoke with at the office said they give you a 15 minute gap and after that you have to reschedule. Ok, great, how the heck can I make that?!

So we stew for a bit [and quietly panic] and then light bulbs start kicking on. We’re in an area with lots of turn-offs into the fields. Ok. We’ve already passed all the spots where we could make a u-turn back to the other town. The next turn off was up ahead quite a ways on the right side into the back roads of the fields. He moved to the right lane and then started to go into the emergency lane so I could see ahead. It looked clear, no road blocks, and the accident was way passed the turn.

Next thing I know we’re cautiously flying down the emergency lane [sorry traffic laws!] trying to avoid driving into the dirt, or any cars leaning too far to the right. I’m not used to breaking the rules like that but I felt less bad when a car started following behind us. haha. I had no choice though. I was never going to make it otherwise.
Even then I was frantically scrolling through my phone to find the exact road it connects to to get us back into the city. EC knows the area but it had been a long time since he’d been back there and I’ve only ever been back there while mom was driving. She lived out there and knows all the short cuts.

Anyway I finally found where we were going [of course the gps doesn’t include those roads] and off we sped down the back roads trying to avoid all the pot holes left behind by the semi-trucks that take loads from the fields. My mom’s poor little car was bouncing all over the place. haha. We couldn’t take either one of EC’s trucks because they don’t fit in the parking lot of my doc’s office and my truck uses too much gas.

Once we finally got onto the road we needed, we realized the on ramp back to the freeway spills out right across from the exit we need. If it’s too busy we won’t be able to cross. Then we get closer and see the accident that’s causing the traffic is just before we need to get back on the road. It’s blocking the location where we’d need to merge to take the exit. Ugh. If we have to go around it’ll take too long to get through town. So we wing it, take the on ramp, and get super lucky that all the cars are going slow passed the accident. We see an opening and cross from one end to the other barely making the gap for the exit. Phew!

From here on out I just have to pray that the green lights are on our side and sure enough most of them were. We make it to the front of the building, he drops me off, and I hobble my way inside alone. Made it to the front desk 10 minutes late but within their accepted timeframe!

I check in, sit down for about two minutes and get called back. Of course they have the world’s longest hallways and I’m dying with my cane. Take the EKG. Felt nothing until assistant slowly peeled off all the stickers they put on you. Joked about the pain and men having to shave their chests. And that was it. Got dressed. Tried to remember how to get out of there and met EC at the door.


Last updated May 07, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.