Bright cold Saturday morning in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 26, 2022, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The Dems are having their county convention today. Jim has left already and I don’t think I”m going. I’d like to hear the candidate for U.S. Rep speak - she’s a former tv news reporter and I wonder how she presents herself. The incumbent is also a former tv news reporter - both female, both blonde. Since I do’t have tv, unless I look for youtubes or see them in person I don’t have a feeling for how they present themselves.

I’ve given up the Dems. I was active for years and enjoyed every single event but it’s just sort of over. JIm has taken over for me and I think he’s more comfortable if I’m not there. It’s not like I won’t go to my grave voting for anyone the Dems put up - but - I’d rather let other people do it now. The woman who was so good who ran the local group then still runs it. I should write her a letter.
OkJIm and I had talked about getting a tv this winter. The one at Joana’s house that catches tv out of the air ‘for free’ has enouraged us that that’s would work down here as well. But we are lazy and we didn’t get it done. Lazy and satisfied with the status quo. We talk about getting rid of the cat ruined old sofa too but that hasn’t happened yet either. Damn status quo.

I’m dressed and ready to go to town anyway. I need to buy groceries. My store is closed on Sunday so that puts a little emphasis on making a trip on Saturday. I need more pop - ha ha ha, and peanut butter and apples and right now I can’t remember what else. I’m thinking I might go to the dollar store that’s next door to the grocery store. I wonder if my stapler would work with new staples? The stapler was my dad’s and I have sentimental attachment but the box of staples is old and they stick together. Maybe new staples would be slipperier and work better. I might get some stickers to decorate my newly refound writing prompt book and my new perfect life notebook. I should have saved the millions that come in the mail and I suppose I could exericse some patience and just wait for more to come in the mail.

What an odd paragraph. What an odd entry. I did 100% on Wordle and Quordle - first time - after midnight when I watched Dick Cavett and James Baldwin. I feel generally good. The basement has dried out.

Guess I’ll go now.
Best of luck to you all.
Life is what we make it.
As perfect as we judge it.


Jinn March 26, 2022

Enjoy your Saturday !!! It’s bright and cold here too and like you I am headed to the grocery store . Yuck !
I depend on my TV and streaming services too much but I do like many series and movies .

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ March 26, 2022

My husband was very possessive of the tv, especially toward the end of his life. It's just so much calmer without hi ...... I started to type him but I meant tv.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ March 26, 2022

:-) I tend to monopolize the TV cause F. Does not care much about it. If he expresses he desires to watch something I hand over the controllers . :-) It’s rare . He has a short attention span for TV or reading. We are total opposites in every way :-)

gattaca March 26, 2022

Not odd at all in my opinion.

I've given up on our two party system altogether. Unfortunately I don't have an alternative.
And I must buy groceries today, providing I can find a market where the shelves are not all bare. 🥦

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ March 26, 2022

My grocery store was full of stuff. It always is. I feel guilty. Milk cooler had some empty space but there was still plenty to buy. I keep meaning to try two liter Canada Dry ginger ale but I forgot. Our main food/supply issue is still deposit beverage containers - no place to take them. Oh but Kellogg's Special K, the regular kind is back now. It's my son's staff of life.
I truly believe in another of those go to my grave beliefs that the Democrats are the right people to run things. They are less greedy. They put the jam jar on a lower shelf to quote the home ec teachers grandmother who lived through 1920s Germany. I know that as much as I know anything.

Purple Dawn March 26, 2022

I still suck at Quordle, but do Canuckle now too.
I'm so upset with politics here in Canada. They're pulling some fast ones, the minority govt has pulled some move so that they don't have to hold an election until 2025 :/ Our PM was roasted at he EU meetings last week and deserved every bit of it. You probably saw it.
Take care,

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ March 26, 2022

I missed the EU stuff. Who was unhappy about what? Was it about Ukraine?

Purple Dawn woman in the moon ⋅ March 26, 2022

No, it was several leaders in the EU telling Trudeau that he was a dictator and to go home. Not many showed up for his speech...I have a link on my FB page with 2 or 3 speakers roasting him pretty good.

noko March 26, 2022

Good job on the puzzles and hope the grocery shopping was useful and good.

Just Annie March 27, 2022

I'm making my list for tomorrow's run for the grocery store. It's not a long list, just breakfast and lunch stuff for myself and the ingredients for dinner on Tuesday. We've fallen into a routine. I fix dinner for everybody on Tuesday. Not tacos, although we did that for a few weeks in a row. Albert was hinting at Shepherd's Pie (pea-less for Ella, she has an allergy to pea protein and although fresh peas won't hurt her, I just leave them out), but I think I will do a Chicken Cordon Bleu casserole with some roasted vegetable - carrots, maybe. I love casseroles almost as much as I love cooking in my crock pot. I can put it together ahead of time.

NorthernSeeker March 27, 2022

You worked hard for the Dems for a lot of years and you shouldn't feel bad about stepping back. I'm sure you support the party in lots of ways. Relax. Jim is enjoying it and you support him. It's all good. I hope the new staples work. The old ones might have corroded together. I don't think the entry is odd. I'm sure you will think about the tv again before winter returns. What does a tv cost these days?

Serin March 31, 2022

Peanut butter is delicious and makes me sad for the allergic who are missing out.

Is working for the parties fun? I know it seems interesting, but is it enjoyable or is it some kind of duty?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.