Mother in law… in Life Lessons

  • March 24, 2022, 7:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I know I’m just repeating myself, but I need advice…. My MIL and SIL are really rude to me, they don’t hardly talk to me.. they talk about me behind my back, spread rumors about me and try to turn my husband against me… anytime they do talk to me, it’s to tell me they want me to have a baby for them… thinking about them gives me anxiety, it’s hard for me to coexist and act like I like them… is this my own fault? I try to tell my husband to cut them off, he won’t because he’s close with his dad, he thinks I’m just causing problems… should I say something to them? If I do it in person they will deny it and go cry to my husband, if I text them they will just say “ok”…. Should my husband say something? Should I just let them treat me how they want?
It really bothers me when I think about when we do have kids… right now the way they are I don’t want them around my children…. Is that bad?


Deleted user March 24, 2022

"they talk about me behind my back, spread rumors about me and try to turn my husband against me… "

THOSE are some sick bitches and anyone that panders to them and goes along with their sick bitch behavior are ENABLERS. "Bitch please!" comes to mind here. Yeah I get it, you don't want to make waves. How not to make waves? AVOID THEM! Or you can stand up for yourself. Don't need your husband to do it for you and the idea that you are a troublemaker is ludicrous! If you let this continue it is practice and encouragement for them. They will continue to do it. They are SICK! You seem to be cringing and afraid of hurting someone's feelings for standing up for yourself. Your choice. Get walked on and treated like shit or tell someone to shut up and fuck off. Pardon my language. Just being me how I sometimes talk ;-)

"want me to have a baby for them…"???? WHAT? Girl, your sex life and procreation life is ONLY YOU AND YOUR HUSBANDS AFFAIR. What you do with your uterus is ONLY FOR YOU TO DECIDE. Oh and my view is yeah only you. That is some sick stuff you talking here about them. I know that confrontation is messy and leads to arguments and drama. How about: "My life and my body ARE NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS!" It will help too if family does not know the particulars of your life. The less they know the less their small minds will drool on. You wanted input, ok. I have a brother-in-law and sister that talk shit about me behind my back and look down on me. How did I fix that? I laugh about it. The less they know the better. People will run down others for some ego some faux sense of superiority. I catch myself doing it and end it. I also have a "give it your best shot" attitude. Those idiots you talk about get OFF on seeing you react to them. Your hubby doesn't seem to want to get involved in the drama. Anyway...advice given ;-) Peace to you! :-)

CountryGirl Deleted user ⋅ March 26, 2022

I really just need to buck up and say something… cause what do I have to lose.. it’s a win if they straighten up and I’m fine if they just never want to see me again😂🤷‍♀️ Yeah they little ask if we’ve been doing it lately…. They are just a mess…

woman in the moon March 24, 2022

I think I'd ignore them as much as possible too. How close do you live to them? How often do you see them? It's rough when you have to share your life with people who don't like you. Isn't good for a marriage, for sure.

CountryGirl woman in the moon ⋅ March 26, 2022

I try… they live a couple hours away thank goodness, but that means when we visit or they visit it’s roughly 50 hours of them nonstop….

woman in the moon CountryGirl ⋅ March 26, 2022

i was like that the first 10 yrs of my marriage. Home for weekends of holidays. Way too much togetherness/lack of control. Then we moved 'home'... and I had to share my husband and my two kids what seemed like full time. There were money issues, time issues, food issues, possession issues, read the phone book. I wish I could tell you things ever really got better. Maybe they did. I had a job, several in fact, and I tried to have a life of my own. My inlaws weren't bad people, I wasn't a bad person... it's just that the relationship is full of ways to go wrong. I'm 75 now and have outlived almost everybody. I hope and try not to be 'that way' with my daugtherinlaw and my grandchildren ---- yet I still have to be me, I still have to get what I can from life.
Bless you. YOu have my sympathy. Truth is - in life, we never have exactly what we want. They probably don't have it either.
ps my husband had a girl he wished he's married. I used to wonder if they would have liked her better than they liked me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.