Old and Boring Now. in These Foolish Things

  • March 12, 2022, 9:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Saturday evening. I’m thinking about going to bed pretty soon so I can wake up early since we’re losing an hour overnight. Ugh. I hate these time switches. They screw me up.

Anyway, tomorrow I want to get up early, walk the dog, get a good hour workout in (I did an hour-long workout for the first time since my cancer diagnosis today, and man…did it feel good to be back to having longer workouts) and then get ready for brunch with a couple of the girls.

Didn’t get much accomplished today since I woke up a little late and lazed a bit before the long dog walk and workout. Then a luxuriously lengthy shower and I was really slow to get out of my robe.

It was just a slow day!

Life seems to slow down a bit when you are “between jobs” I guess.

And yet! I didn’t tell you about the absolutely wildly fun day on Wednesday, did I?

Well.

A long time ago, I went out with someone I used to call Captain K. back in the OD days. It was 15 years ago. I was still living in the old loft and it was long before my SexyPants days, so yeah. Long time ago.

The guy is a commercial airline pilot and I liked him, but the problem was that he lived too far away from me and I was also dating guys who were much closer and I guess I was just in a wild place at the time. I blew him off years ago - even though I know he really liked me. What a jerk I was back then.

The other day, he found me and slid into my DMs on IG. At first I ignored his messages (he sent a couple), and then I was kind of like, why am I blowing him off after all these years? He was never a dick to me…it was more the other way around. Why don’t you see what’s going on?

Bottom line, we messaged and long story short, he took me for a ride in one of his little Cessna planes (he has a few) and took me to lunch on Wednesday.

It was super fun and exciting and I was a little scared, but he was GREAT and it was a blast. I don’t know anything about airplanes, but apparently, this plane is a gem of an old plane. Capn K told me that it was a 65-year old plane - he’d had it painted a candy-apple red with gray and silver trim. It was GORGEOUS. All of the airport workers were ooh-ing and ahhh-ing and making a big fuss out of this little plane. It was such a buzz at the airport.

I ended up having two glasses of wine during lunch because I’m such a nervous flyer AND because I was having so much fun. I truly didn’t want the day to end. It was the most excitement (from an enjoyment perspective) I’ve had in a couple of YEARS.

I’m so grateful for that day.

I’d go out with Captain K. if he asked me again. I’m not sure that he will. He’s running all over the country doing some things with some more little planes, so. Whatev. We’ll see.

Anyway, the other thing I wanted to say about that day is that I don’t think I can drink alcohol anymore. Like, any more than one glass puts me over the edge physically. Thursday morning I attempted a 30-minute workout and my fitbit recorded something like a heart attack! I can tell that my heart works too hard when I’ve had alcohol. I don’t need a fitbit to tell me that - it just feels like my body is kind of rejecting alcohol now.

That, and the fact that any kind of alcohol is absolutely known to be carcinogenic.

I am not going to never, ever have another drink again - I see myself having a glass of champagne as a celebration here and there, but I don’t ever see me going back to the days of a bottle of wine every night after work. And yes, I have YEARS of that under my belt.

So.

Back to my weekend we go. I’m having brunch tomorrow. I might have a mocktail, but no bottomless mimosas for me.

I am old and boring now.

But I still love you - I hope you love me back,
GS


The Thirsty Oriental March 12, 2022

I do!

Ginger Snap The Thirsty Oriental ⋅ March 13, 2022

Thanks, friend!

colder March 12, 2022

I really lost my taste for the alcoholy things a few years ago for the most part, unless it's with a meal... I think I am old and boring far far beyond my years. But, good for you determining what's helping you and what's not, and leaving the stuff that's not in the past.

Sounds like a fun airplane ride too! I'm not a nervous flier but I'd be nervous in a small plane like that. Wine or no wine, that's still bravery for me.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ March 13, 2022

Haha! I don't know how brave I was, but it was SO much fun and I'd do it again - as long as the weather is nice :)

bobbi01 March 13, 2022

Sounds like a fantastic day.

Jinn March 13, 2022

We do !! ❤️

IpsoFacto March 13, 2022

Every day I say to myself about something or other, ““that was then this is now. “I’ve had an incredibly wonderful life, especially the last 27 years when I have been with my husband. I never knew what peace was like until I met him.

pandora March 13, 2022

Ditching booze was easier for me because my body started to reject it (long before my brain did). I think this happens to us as we age! It's now been... (googles it): 436 days!

That date sounds SO fun! Definitely not your average hang-out. I would've been nervous to go in one of those little planes too, but how exhilarating! So fun.

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ March 13, 2022

I think you're so right about our bodies rejecting alcohol! Clearly, not everyone's body does, but I think surviving colon cancer is quite a wake-up call to all things potentially unhealthy!

plushcreep March 13, 2022

Sounds like you're flying high after winging it with the Cap'n!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ March 13, 2022

Haha! Pretty much!

Complicated Disaster March 14, 2022 (edited March 14, 2022)

Edited

Sounds like an exciting time in the plane!!
I used to be in the "bottle a day and two at weekends" club but cut out weekday drinking years ago now. My body couldn't sustain it.
Love you too! <3
xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.