Funemployment, Week 1 in These Foolish Things

  • March 11, 2022, 10:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, it’s Friday. No going to the office for a whole week and what’s going on?

It’s funny. This week was National Sales Meeting (NSM) for my former company. I feel a couple of ways about that. It’s amazing how strong those feelings are - especially when I’ve been trying to leave the company for so long.

First, I am so happy that I did not have to present the butchered product line. Over the last year, I was required to slash so much product that there really wasn’t much left of a cohesive statement at all. I was ridiculously nervous about how the skeleton line was going to look to execs and the sales team. BUT. I did not have to worry about that, did I? There’s a LOT of work left undone! Goodbye and good riddance.

However! I was sad to miss the social aspect of the whole deal. There were dinners and parties and a few people I really like and cherish as friends. And I missed that part. I find myself looking at social media to see what I missed. Luckily (I guess), I haven’t seen much of anything. Maybe it was dumb and boring. I know they were doing a black tie event last night and I had a whole look planned for that, but I haven’t seen anything posted.

Oh well, can’t really worry about all of that now, can I? I must move on.

It’s actually been a productive and fun week! I need to keep this momentum going because if I can do that, I’ll get my dream gig in due time.

Interestingly, out of the blue, I was contacted by two different companies about two completely different roles that I’m very interested in.

The first company is a corporate giant. And when I say corporate giant (and I know I say it a LOT), I mean…one of the giantest of the corporate giants. Some people hate this company for it’s former controversial CEO, but there are so many amazing things happening at the company that you can’t not pay attention to it.

To get into this company requires a super-complicated series of interviews and…ughhhh….I am glad I don’t have a full time job right now because I feel like I’m going to have to study for Tuesday’s interview all weekend. I also have a phone call in just a few minutes with the HR person because I need to understand what they are asking when they ask for my salary requirements. I don’t want to underestimate my worth, but I don’t want to overestimate what I can ask for!

The second company would be something of a dream job in my area of expertise. It is EXACTLY in the sweet spot of my passion and truly something I know I could take the ball and run and excel and be super excited about.

The problem is, both of these opportunities require relocation. There are no remote opportunities with what I do for a living. I create. I touch, mold, design products. I can’t do this remotely.

The giant corp is giving me the option of four cities in the United States. The dream gig is giving me ONE option and that is in Small Town USA.

I gotta go get ready for this phone call, but I also want to tell you about the rest of my week. I’ll be back…

Thinking, thinking, thinking,
GS


colder March 11, 2022

Exciting times coming up! Good luck with study weekend and in these interviews!

ninakir88 March 11, 2022

exciting

CharminglyNeurotic March 11, 2022

why not just up and move to NYC bc YOLO

bobbi01 March 11, 2022

Exciting opportunities lie ahead. Stay off the socials, it will mess with your head.

The Dress Collector March 12, 2022

Exciting about the job opportunities! Are you in sales?

Ginger Snap The Dress Collector ⋅ March 12, 2022

Nope. Not sales. I’m a (non-technical) designer/product developer/brand manager/marketer

Complicated Disaster March 14, 2022

How small is Small Town? xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.