news today in News stories

  • March 9, 2022, 8:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Chernobyl plant disconnected from power grid in what Ukraine called an ‘extremely dangerous situation.’

Ukraine’s closed Chernobyl nuclear power plant has been disconnected from the nation’s power grid by Russian forces, Ukraine’s state-owned grid operator Ukrenergo said, potentially jeopardizing the cooling of nuclear fuel still stored at the site. Meanwhile, both Russia and Ukraine announced routes to allow people to leave hard-hit cities.

Redlining means 45 million Americans are breathing dirtier air today, researchers find, 50 years after it ended

Decades of federal housing discrimination continues to disproportionately affect Americans of color, according to an analysis of more than 200 cities published in the journal Environmental Science and Technology Letters. The study found that, compared to White people, Black and Latino Americans live with more smog and fine particulate matter from cars, trucks, buses, coal plants and other nearby industrial sources in areas that were deemed undesirable by federal mortgage officers between the late 1930s and late 1960s.
~Washington Post clips

One year ago Gasconade County had 1455 confirmed Covid cases with 60 deaths.
Today? 3316 confirmed, with 94 deaths.
Missouri is averaging 313 newly confirmed cases a day, with 1 death per day.
I don’t care what the fuck people say, I’m still going to wear my damn mask.


Deleted user March 09, 2022

I just went shopping. Without a mask. Covid is now hit and miss depending on where you live. I felt naked without one. But when I go shopping, few people in the shops. That is amazing about Missouri. I think it is a red state? Michigan is a bit purple.

Gilraent Deleted user ⋅ March 09, 2022

Very red here in the MO. People still have pro 45 flags flying.

I try to avoid the busy times, when shopping. Being in a small town is sometimes a good thing seeing that it's usually not crazy at the stores.

I felt so embarrassed to not have my mask on when I ran into BP for cigarettes the other day lol Just felt so so weird!

Deleted user Gilraent ⋅ March 09, 2022

I still use hand sanitizer (Shakes head about self)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.