Monday 03/07/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • March 7, 2022, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Monday!!

I woke up to lots of snow on the ground and colder temps. It is in the ’20s and we have about 4 inches of snow. I won’t be shoveling myself I will let the guys I hired do it today. I can barely get my front door open. I am sure they will get to it in a few hours. I have no plans to go out. Tomorrow temps will be in the 40’s. And then Thursday there is another storm brewing with more snow expected. I guess we are making up for the snow we didn’t get the last 3 months. This is typical March weather. Up and down temps. Teases of Spring.

I went out for a walk yesterday. I stopped at the library and picked up the book I had on hold. I ran to the bank and got some cash. I always like to have at least $40-60 cash. I ran out of bananas and was going to go to the closest grocery store and decided to wait. I can live without them for a few days. By Wednesday I will need a few other things. Oh, I did also went and filled my gas tank. Gas is now $3.69 a gallon. I am very nervous about how high it’s going to go. I am really going to have to limit my road trips to the grocery store. It is just a shame that our local store doesn’t have what we need. And the meat quality is crap. I can have groceries delivered but they don’t take the EBT card. And I don’t want to waste my cash on groceries when I have the money on the EBT card. I did place an order with Walmart to get my cat food, cat litter, deodorant, and cat liners. That will be delivered tomorrow. Walmart does not deliver groceries here. I can do pick up but I am still paying for gas for the drive over. Walmart is the cheapest store but also the farthest away. When I go to the store next it will be to Walmart and Aldi to stock up for the month. I am learning to plan better.

I am watching a lot of Youtube videos on how to shop and eat cheaper. There are excellent videos out there. I am learning to cook different things in different ways. Try new things. One thing I see a lot is people eat a lot of beans and rice. I have never eaten beans. I am going to purchase some rice on my next visit to the store. Not sure about beans. Also, there are a lot of things you can cook in the air fryer. I am finding lots of things on Pinterest as well.

I am trying to finish up the book “Never Tell” by Lisa Gardner. It is a very good book with a lot of mystery in the story. It is a paperback book so the print is small. I am reading for a bit and then taking a break. My eyes have to rest. My shot in my left eye last week makes my eye water and burn a bit. So I have to apply drops every two hours. Sometimes it feels like they are really making the print a lot smaller than they used to. It could be because of my issue with my eyes. I like getting large print books at my library. But there is not a very big selection of Large print. I know my eyes will get better. They have already improved a lot. I love to read. For those of you reading this, what are you reading right now?

There is a huge book sale on March 26th and 27th to benefit the homeless shelter in the next town over. I really would like to go to that. I know I don’t need any more books. But that does not stop me from wanting to go. There are a few books from some of my favorite authors I would love to have in my library. I will have gotten my next check by then so I could budget in some extra money for that. Just thinking out loud. 😋

I watched American Idol last night. Wow, what a tear-jerking show it was. There are a lot of incredible young singers last night. Some had some very heart-wrenching stores. I can hardly wait to hear more from them. I also like watching the Voice but I think American Idol is much better.

I have run out of things to write here. So I am going to post this and catch up on a few other diaries. Here’s to a great week ahead.
Later,
Sheri


patrisha March 07, 2022

I read a lot. But my eyes are so bad that I would not be able to read at all were it not for Kindle.

Right now, I am re-reading the whole "Kinsey Millhome" series by Sue Grafton. I am enjoying them even though I have read them before.

If you like mysteries, you may have read one or more. They are the ones that have alphabet names like "A is for Alibi" and "B is for Burglar"

ladylovestheocean patrisha ⋅ March 08, 2022

Thank you so much for your note.

I have read the Alphabet series. I loved it. "Kinsey Millhone" is a great character. Have you read any of Janet Evanovich's books? They are pretty funny. I think there are 27 now. And there are books in between the numbered ones. There are great Characters in those books. They are quick reads also.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.