Date Night in Days of My Destiny

  • June 1, 2014, 7:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So now that I'm JUST ME again, lol.......

Dave Hughes was good :) What was better than that? OUR DATE NIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!

The first few hours of our date night were pretty hilarious, and they didn't even involve the comedian, lol. We had plans to drop the kids off, go somewhere nice for dinner and then head off to the show. But we were slowed down by a few things on the way - I washed the car which took way longer than usual thanks to cakes of mud piled up everywhere, which was thanks to the road works on the dirt road I live on. We also took ages to get the girls' car seats into Helen's car, and then after that I had to drop in to Kim's to pick up my USB stick that I'd left there the day before. I could've let that last one go, but her sisters were up visiting and she specifically told me to drop in and say hi to them, so I did. (I'd never seen them all standing so close together and OMG now I know how people feel when they first meet me and my sister lol!!! THEY ALL LOOK THE SAME!!!!! Lololololololol)

By the time we got to our motel, L reckoned he stank and wanted to have a quick shower, so he did, and then we started walking down the road to find somewhere to eat. It started raining, so we had to get our umbrella and then the stupid thing flipped upside down on us lol and we couldn't for the life of us figure out how to fold it back. It took ages so that slowed us down even more!!! In the end, we realised we did not have enough time to walk into a restaurant, sit down, order a meal, wait for it to be served, eat it and get to Dave Hughes on time! We would have to eat everything right up in about 2 seconds flat if we wanted to do that, lol. We walked into a restaurant anyway and the patron actually turned us away once he knew we were going to Dave Hughes cos he knew he wouldn't be able to serve us our food in time!!!

In the end, we were all dressed up, walking quickly in the rain, eating KFC on the go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CLASSY!!!!!!!!!!

Lol it was the FUNNIEST thing. L kept apologising because he wanted to make it nice for us and he kept thanking me for being "so awesome" and "cool", cos I wasn't pissed off that our date night wasn't Up There lol. As if, I mean it was all part of the adventure for me!!!!

Dave Hughes himself was good. He's not my FAVOURITE comedian and sometimes I found myself laughing just because I was in the right place to, lol. I wasn't impressed with the amount of swearing and cussing. I didn't expect that because I've seen him on TV before and did not hear anywhere near as much of it, but of course, being on TV would mean he has to watch his language a bit more. I don't see why it should be any different anywhere else, but oh well. I laughed anyway. I'd heard some of his jokes already, only because I was silly enough to YouTube him the other day, so I was familiar with some of the joke routines, lol.

There was an art exhibition in the foyer of the entertainment centre where Dave Hughes was, so L and I walked around admiring the paintings and discussing what we liked about them while sipping on our drinks (wine for me, rum for him). It was just WONDERFUL.

It was also wonderful to be near civilisation again, lol. I think for the most part, I have settled well here, but when I'm in a place where you're not expected to know anyone or make idle conversation because it's polite, or where you have to watch what you say or do or wear etc... it's kind of like a breath of fresh air!! It really is. It's nice to be anonymous again.

After the show we walked to a steak house-like place and ordered wedges with sour cream and sweet chili sauce, ordered some more drinks and sat at a table, talking and laughing. I don't even know what we talked about lol. I was enjoying myself so much. There was a little foyer-like room behind us and we noticed there was a small piano sitting there with nobody playing it. We went in and I played it for a bit, only to realise it was TERRIBLY out of tune... if you're a piano player, you'll know that playing a piano that is THAT badly out of tune is just impossible... so that was a shame.

When we got back to the motel, L was serving me another drink when he realised he needed to pee. While he was peeing, I stripped my jeans off quietly and lay on my tummy on the bed. When he walked out, he drew in his breath as he gazed at me. I was laying there with all my top-half clothes still on, but only a G-string on the bottom half, lol. He liked what he saw ;) I'm happy to report that I'd got my "downstairs" area sorted too, so we had some much much MUCH needed fun ;)

Then we crashed lol.

At 3am I woke up after only half-sleeping for a while. The bed wasn't that great and I could feel aches and pains in my neck and shoulders. My mind started doing it's thing (ie THINKING) and I realised I hadn't warned Helen that Little L wakes once a night to use the toilet. The thing is, she doesn't let you know, she just cries in her sleep and might be sleep talking, but never mentions the need to use the toilet. We just take her and she does her thing and then we put her back to bed. So I pictured Helen going to see my crying Little L and trying to figure out what was going on. I also pictured Little L only crying once she'd already accidentally wet the bed, or crying because she'd woken up not knowing where she was... I felt terrible. Finally I decided that, for all I knew, everything was going really well and that the only person losing sleep was me. Which in fact, I later learned, was true!!! Lol.

When we woke up this morning, I was annoyed that I didn't have a great sleep on the ONE NIGHT that I had every reason to have a good sleep!!! Oh well. Murphy's Law and all that. (Damn you, Murphy!!!) I was so glad to be awake though, because I was having some crazy CRAZY dream that involved me being in a car chase while hiding a dead body in the car ... I know.... anyway. We got up, had a shower, then went back to bed and made some sweet love ;) eh eh eh!!!!

Talk about rejuvenating!!!!

I couldn't believe just how EASY things were! Getting dressed, putting on make-up, FINISHING A SENTENCE... oh my goodness, to think this is other people's NORMAL!!!! And it used to be OUR normal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Wahhhh!!!! Lol.

(I can't stand it when people write "wahhh", it sounds dumb in my head. But I just did. Oh I'm such a hypocrite lol)

I wish we could've had more time... one day... we figure that we can go away for more than one night to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary (which is 2 years away) because by then, Little L will be 5 and a half.. and by then, she'll be really easy to look after for longer than one night!)

Unfortunately our drive home was rudely interrupted by some urgent matters to do with the Committee that I am no longer the President of. Basically there was some real confidential stuff going on and we'd had to email the Committee about it. It involved some staff and anyway... somebody LEAKED the email to a particular staff member and well.. now shit has really hit the fan. Hence why I quit. Damn right I did, see my previous entry!!!!

I was feeling like I'd been kicked in the gut. Absolutely everything I've tried to do for this organization in the last 10 weeks has had NO results, zero. And it's not because of me, it's because of everyone else's absolute disregard for professionalism, respect and wanting to improve the organization. I was toying with the idea on and off. I was wandering, do I quit now and enjoy my trip to Chile? Or do I take my holiday and see how I feel when I get back?

I decided to quit while I'm ahead. The advantages are that a) people don't know me that well yet, b) I can enjoy my holiday completely, c) I don't have to go anywhere tomorrow to have awkward meetings with staff, d) I can just BE ME again!

I ummed and ahhed a fair bit, until I realised - politicians do this all the time!!! They quit while they're ahead!!!!!! If they can do it, SO CAN I!!!!!

Also it was a bit of a strategic move, because the Treasurer had hinted twice by now that if the Committee didn't do X then she would quit... and if she were to quit before me, it would be REALLY bad for me, because I don't understand finance all that well!!!!

There are so many advantages to me actually quitting though. By law, if things go wrong, it's my name out there. I'M the president (or was) and I have signed legal, government-related documents pertaining to Funding etc,... if anything ever went wrong, how bad would that be..... it was a much bigger responsibility than they'd made it out to be the day I put my hand up for it. So.... fuck 'em. I don't owe them anything. The organization won't die without me.

ANY. WAY.

Date night was oh so good ....... We also realised it was the first time we'd ever spent a FULL NIGHT away from our children.... so it was a pretty big deal! We've decided that we need to have date nights once a month. These date nights won't include a FULL night away from our kids, instead we'll do that every six months. We need to.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.