Ashes to Ashes in Every day scata

  • March 6, 2022, 2:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

3/6/22
1:16 pm

This bullshit with Russia invading the Ukraine is making me feel nostalgic in a really fucked up way.

Having grown up in the 70s and 80s, I went through the fear of the Soviets bombing us. When I was really young, my anxiety forced me to know where the closest bomb shelter was. Then, when I was a bit older, probably around 13 (you know, becoming a true Gen-xer) I realized that I didn’t want to be around if they dropped the bomb. I was going to run towards it.

I got totally obsessed with news of death and distruction around the world. Started clipping all the horror stories.

Some things never change, eh? Still clip horror stories. It’s just advanced with technology. Kinda miss the daily news papers, though.

My brain went into the wayback machine and I just had to listen to all the songs that were “anti everything”, which lead me into listening to just everything I grew up with, and that’s what made me ask the question about music.

Anyhoo.

Did I write about having to let Tyson go Home? I still cry (like right now) when I think of it. I just.. can’t. Maybe some day it will lessen.

Because we couldn’t deal with the quiet of the house, the lack of love from an animal, we adopted TJ. He just came home yesterday after a neuter. We filled out all the adoption paperwork.

I’d write more about that if I had the energy.

Maybe later.

See ya.


Kristi1971 March 06, 2022

I know exactly what you mean. When we were in school, a big science project every year was about surviving a nuclear war and the fallout. One year we saw The Day After in school. The funny thing is that my mom would never have let me see that movie otherwise. School didn't send permissions slips home or anything. They just showed it as part of one year's science project on surviving.

Now I am adult going through all these feelings again, and I have children to care for....not just me surviving.

Gilraent Kristi1971 ⋅ March 07, 2022

I don't know how you, and other parents do it with all the horrid stuff in the world.

I forgot about The Day After. I don't remember ever seeing it as a kid, but I probably did.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.