salsa time in 2022

  • March 5, 2022, 6:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

12:34

I finally heard back from the doc on Thursday!

They called me randomly and I wasn’t going to answer because I didn’t recognize the number, but something told me I should pick up. And sure enough it was the receptionist wanting to schedule a phone call with the surgeon. I was at work but didn’t have any clients so we scheduled for about an hour later.

I had actually planned on trying to call again that day because I hadn’t heard anything back. Last I knew he only visited the closer location once a month on the first Friday so I was going to leave a message there. They called me from his main location though, which I’m guessing means I don’t have to transfer every thing over.

Well he ended up calling me about a half hour late but that’s alright. It worked out.

He asked me if I was ready and I told him that I needed to get rid of this leg already [or just the hip bone not my whole leg hah]. We discussed all the details of how the process will work from here. Apparently just last week he performed the same operation on a lady in her early 30s with a type of arthritis. Basically me. He said he wanted me to know that even though I am really young, and it’s rare to need a hip replacement, I am definitely not the only one out there.

So, he’s going to submit a request for surgery!

The paperwork comes first of course. The submittal. Contacting my rheumatologist for instructions on what meds to stop and/or reschedule. An appointment for an EKG, which he suspects will be clear but if not they’ll send me to a cardiologist. Then one week before surgery I’ll meet with his PA to discuss all the post-surgery meds and requirements. I’ll also get a new set of X-rays since the ones I have will be from late 2021 and don’t have all the scales for measurements.

Apparently I should hear from someone within about the next week to get the ball rolling on my end of things.

I can’t schedule any surgery until after the season, but we’ll see how I can sneak in some of these pre-op appointments. Honestly I’m willing to schedule as early as like the 20th of April so we’ll see!

Still nervous excited.


In other news: I’ve got just over an hour left of work. I am looking forward to dinner and the fights. The fights should be good tonight. We’ll probably go watch next door after we eat.

EC is currently at the house making up a salsa. Yum. Can’t wait to try it. [and maybe salsa dancing too in a couple months!] Though that will mostly be for tomorrow’s brunch. Omelets, hash browns, and bagels!

Tonight’s dinner will be chicken salad tostadas and rice. Mom made the chicken salad this morning with a rotisserie chicken EC brought last night. I’ll make the tostadas and spicy rice when I get home.

We’re both still going strong on the no beef/pork/beer thing. The neighbor gave up all alcohol but it sounds like he’s going to cave and have a drink with us tonight. At least no beer for anyone though! It’s going to be weird this first weekend since we’re all so used to drinking a ton of beer together.

It’ll definitely be better for us though! I’m hoping for some healthy changes in my physical world at the end of these 40 days.

Time to start wrapping it up.

rose
15:57


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.