Paralyzed** in These Foolish Things

  • March 4, 2022, 2:28 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ugh. You guys. I’m paralyzed with fear. I have a meeting invite for 12:30 with my boss’s boss titled Org Change Meeting. I can’t concentrate.

Update: Meeting was scheduled for 12:30. At 12:25, I started making my way to the corner office. At 12:26, I saw the following people walk out of that corner office: CEO, head of HR and Boss’s Boss. The head of HR walked past me without saying a word. CEO went into her office. Boss’s Boss walked the other way. I thought maybe Boss’s Boss was just going to the bathroom before our meeting or something, but at 12:30, he wasn’t back so I checked my email on my phone and noted that at 12:25 he’d changed the meeting time to 3:30.

I walked back to my area and noticed both head of HR and Boss’s Boss coming out of my boss’s office. They didn’t see me, but I saw them.

So now I’m over here, FREAKING OUT even more. This is a torturous day. I mean, WAY worse than when I was told I had cancer because at least the doc ripped the bandaid off even before I was fully awake!

FUCK.

Update #2: So, 3:30 came and I went to Boss’s Boss’s office and he came out and said we’re going to HR office and I was like, “oh neat” and he gave me a look and that was that. We walked over and it was a quick bullshit conversation about how, with two companies merging, and how the other company we’re merging with has superior capabilities, that they were going with them and there was no room for me.

Bottom line, I got the ax.

I was not surprised, but I was sad at how there was zero empathy - the fact that they cut my insurance off TODAY was an extra shitty slap in the face…especially to a cancer patient. And yes, I’m a survivor, but certainly not in the clear by any means.

Good news is some severance (1 week for every year - I’ve been there 9 years). I have nearly three weeks of vacay left so I will have nearly 3-months severance. Which is meh, but way better than nothing.

Still, they can suck it really, really hard.

I was not allowed to get my purse or my dog. Head of HR went and got my purse and my dog was waiting for me outside the door by the time we were done.

And then they opened the door for me and said not to let it hit me in the ass.

And that was that.

A big, fat fuck you from the company I spent most of my waking hours with for NINE effing years.

Like I said, SUCK it.

Good news is, tomorrow is going to be a beautiful day! And I don’t have to go to that place anymore.

Love you all. Thank you for your kind messages,
GS


Last updated March 04, 2022


bobbi01 March 04, 2022

So mean to send something like that out with no description. Sending good vibes.

Complicated Disaster March 04, 2022

Ugh. That's the worst way to advertise a meeting! *hugs* xx

CharminglyNeurotic March 04, 2022

Here's to our NEW PROMOTION! (fingers crossed!)

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ March 04, 2022

That's so nice of you. I hate that I worry like this. I literally can't even move except for my fingies to type this out. Ugh.

CharminglyNeurotic Ginger Snap ⋅ March 08, 2022

Omg! I'm so sorry! You get Cobra, right? I'm hoping you can at least stay on your health insurance. I wonder if there's any way to fight this bc you are sick and they knew this.

colder March 04, 2022

Hey, good luck. You sound like you deliver a mega ton of value and they should recognize that and be giving you more importance and profile there. I’d be taking deep breaths for the next few hours too, but I am sure things will work out for you no matter what.

Nash March 04, 2022

Whatever it is, you are going to be fine.

WhatDreamsMayCome March 04, 2022

Promotion time!
Best wishes.

Deleted user March 04, 2022

And here I was checking back to see how it went. Honestly, I think you work for sadists.

a girl thinking March 04, 2022

So rude. And they always do it at the end of the day.

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ March 05, 2022

Right?! I would have much rather them do it at 8:30 in the morning...or even at the regularly-scheduled 12:30. I mean, COME ON!! I kept pressing on with work until 3:30. Fudge.

Athena March 04, 2022

Oh, honey! This fucking sucks.

Deleted user March 04, 2022

A pox of fleas and scabies on them. If you decide to stay in your field, I hope you end up in a fabulous position for one of their competitors. Also, remember Glassdoor. Once you are in a new job, let 'er rip.

Jinn March 04, 2022

That is just total shit . What horrible people. I would leave a terrible review for them every chance you get. There is no sense of loyalty in business anymore and then companies are shocked when people just walk out. Definitely get signed up for your unemployment right away . I think I would whistle blow to the IRS on them too ; most companies have stuff to hide and it will make them nervous just having their records checked :-) .

pandora March 04, 2022

OH MY GOD. I cannot believe they did this to you and cut off your insurance immediately. Thank God for the severance pay, but man. I'm so sorry - good riddance to them. You deserve much better.

gravity March 05, 2022

Oh my god, ffffff corporate America. This is so awful. I’m so sorry.

kansasgirl March 05, 2022

I’m so sorry! I hope something comes your way quickly!

colder March 05, 2022

Well, sorry it wasn’t the best outcome, but you get a little relaxation time, you can release all your cares and worries about that place, and find something new and better now. Onward and upward 👏🏻

plushcreep March 05, 2022

I'm amazed that companies are letting people GO when everybody is having so much trouble hiring people. Their loss. On to better things!

Fred March 05, 2022

I’m so sorry. I am confident that you will come out of this stronger and with a better opportunity but I’m really angry on your behalf that they didn’t even give you a month of health insurance. Fuckers.

The Dress Collector March 07, 2022

Oh I'm so sorry, it's always a terrible feeling when the meeting is moved to be w/HR (and I'm in HR). I hope you do enjoy the time off (though I understand it can be extremely stressful...been there!)

Florentine March 08, 2022

I am just catching up, so I know this is last week's news, but still. WHAT THE FUCK. It makes me SO angry that they treated you (or any employee) with so little compassion. You deserve so much better.

bobbi01 March 08, 2022

Oy vey, came back to read your edits after reading next entry. They couldn't even get this right. Disrespectful bunch of dicks. Can't believe they strung it out to 3.30pm either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.