Longer one this time in These titles mean nothing.

Revised: 02/25/2022 3:48 a.m.

  • Feb. 25, 2022, 3:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s 3:15 am. Plenty of time to do pretty much anything. So far I’ve made coffee, done a puzzle of collectible Czech dolls, dealt with the dog and put off Wordle.

Any of you into Wordle?

=============

I just edited this and then lost it.

Wordle is this new-ish simple word game invented by a man named Wardle - ha ha ha. The charm of it is that it can only be played once a day so it can’t suck hours out of your life. Generally I mean. It’s a five letter word you get five or six chances to guess. Guesses have to be real words. If you guess matches any letters in the word and are in the right location they turn green, if they are in the word but not in the right location they turn orange. There is a keyboard below to show the letters you have chosen/have left to choose. It’s easy. It’s hard. So it’s kinda fun. Yesterday I did it with Jim’s help so I thought I would wait for him to get up to do it today.

The guy who invented it - to play with just one person - has sold it to the New York Times with the promise that it won’t be changed. So there. He lives in Waless and works for Reddit.

My puzzle this morning was sweet - doll faces.... the same faces pretty much with different hair and clothes that showed. The faces were the same - from the same mold I suppose with different painted features. They had a pleasant non-committal expression, one that had anticipation. When I saw they were Czech dolls I thought of the Czech/Bohemie* women I knew in the Cedar Rapids area. Two of my husband’s friends had married Czech women and I suppose if I hadn’t snagged him they would have set him up with a Bohemie too. One with a pleasant expectant expression on her face. Oh well that is not how life turned out. One of my husband’s friends stayed married, one didn’t.

The novel I’m reading is called 4321 and it’s by Paul Auster. I saw him and his wife Sari Hustad on youtube and was attracted. She’s a Norwegian Minnesotan and he’s my favorite type, a New York Jew. Keep in mind the only New York Jew I ever met was the NY Times reporter covering John Kerry’s 1994 campaign. David Helbfinger gave me a hug in the doorway of my town’s Chinese restaurant. He was wearing a black leather jacket, he was tall, and I had told him I was more impressed to meet a NYT reporter than a presidential candidate. Considering it was Iowa and an election year, there were a lot more presidential candidates than there were Times reporters.

Ah, anyway. Life is full of memories.

I think what I got from Auster talking about his book was that it was about how small changes in your life could result in big changes down the road. He said it was about the same person, the same DNA, going through different lives. I expected totally different people but I wonder now if it’s just one person with different paths taken through the woods. I’m on page 155 of 866 total. I had my computer do the math and it said that was 13%. Actually it was carelessnness in asking the computer to do that that made me lose my first explanation of Wordle.

See how life is all about choice, big ones, little ones, ones at 3 am, ones at other hours.

OK I’ll save this - for Jinn and four.

  • Bohemie is slang, a slur I suppose. It referred to the Czech population in Cedar Rapids. I use those not terribly nice terms sometimes. I’m not sure why. I’d like to be a nice person. I guess sometimes I’m just not.

4321 has some baseball references. The Dodgers, Giants and Yankees were all playing in New York when the main character was a child. He would watch games on tv with the Black housekeeper. She was proud of what she called the ‘colored’ players. There was an account of Willie Mays making a famous catch in a 1954 World Series game against the Cleveland Indians**. I told Jim and he, who wasn’t born till 1967, knew about Mays catch.

Point being the boy had been told not to use the term ‘colored’ but to say Negro. But it was ok for the Negro housekeeper to say it.

** another slur.
Our local school sports teams are the Indians. Every so often it comes up that it should be changed and there is always a flurry of opinion but nothing changes. I was thinking what we need are some suggested changes. The Catholic high school in my town in my day only had basketball and a little baseball. Its teams were the Wildcats.

I haven’t hit save yet. I suppose the asterisks I’ve used to create italics will battle the asterisks I used as asterisks. Damn. Suck is life. Such is life. Gimme a break, friends, it’s 4am now.

Have a good day. Wish me luck with the 751 pages I have left in 4321.


Last updated February 25, 2022


Jinn February 25, 2022

No, I have no idea how it works :-)

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ February 25, 2022

I just wrote a really nice explanation of it and then lost it. Heck. Heck. Heck.
I'll try again.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ February 25, 2022

I just lost my first game :-)

Jinn February 25, 2022

Thanks for repeating it . I have copied the instructions so I can give Wordle a try :-)
That book sounds interesting !

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ February 25, 2022

It's well written.
I have one coming on interlibrary loan by his wife as well.
Funny how a writer can marry a writer. I wonder if they're happy. I hope so.
Funny thing about interlibrary loans - this looks like a brand new book and it came from Delhi Iowa which is a tiny tiny town. Sometimes I wonder if they look at the loan requests and then buy the book thinking it's a recommendation that someone wants to read it. I've had that happen before.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ February 25, 2022

I miss interlibrary loans ! I don’t use our library anymore except on line because the outside of it has turned into a homeless camp. For 30 years I went there every week religiously and loved it . I miss it .

Jinn February 25, 2022

Where do I find wordle ?

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ February 25, 2022

I google it. Takes me to NYTimes games and there it is.
I should mark it somehow.
Away son plays it. He says he's perfect. But he would say that. I'm stuck at 79%.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ February 25, 2022

I tried it and totally lost . Lol but I am still figuring out the rules. It is fun. !

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ February 25, 2022 (edited February 25, 2022)

Edited

I should have said and may go back and add, that part of the trick is not to use letters again that didn't show up colored. You know what I mean? Also there are patterns - only so many letters go with other letters. Which I doubt you know what I mean. Oh well.
Good thing is you can go on with your day and not have to come back till after midnight tonight.

thesunnyabyss Jinn ⋅ February 25, 2022

https://www.nytimes.com/games/wordle/index.html

If you ever played the game Mastermind it's much like that, the letters in the green block are the correct letter in the correct spot, the mustard coloured letters are the right letter but in the wrong spot.

Jinn thesunnyabyss ⋅ February 25, 2022

I never have played games much but I think I will like this :-)

Beret February 25, 2022

I've tried it a few times but haven't gotten "hooked" on it like so many others. I think that's probably a good thing.

Just Annie February 25, 2022

Good luck on the rest of your novel!

We - Katie, Kara, Albert, and I - play Wordle, Quordle, and Nerdle every morning when we wake up and share our wins...and losses. We all have different start words and Katie often uses a start word in the first and second lines, different ones, to see how many letters she can eliminate. Ella is trying Wordle, too, after school with the help from one of her parents. We enjoy it.

Purple Dawn February 25, 2022

Wordle is fun, I have a lot of staff that play it.
I'm trying to figure out what everyone's start word is. lol

WhatDreamsMayCome February 25, 2022

I like your longer entries! ;-)

noko February 27, 2022

For some reason I am resisting Wordle. I was shown how to play it a few weeks back so have no real excuse except I think I am bad at those kind of things. I have been told that I look Czech by folks from there. I look a lot like my mother but have different coloring and she was German on both sides so it is a bit of a mystery. Good luck with your book.

Serin March 02, 2022

I know how much baseball means to so many people and it makes me feel a little disconnected to read a story with baseball and feel no emotional connection myself. The author was evoking something there.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ March 02, 2022

l read a lot about NYC and baseball and immigrants. It was a tragedy when the Giants and Dodgers left for California.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ March 05, 2022

At my country school with 10 or fewer kids in 8 grades, baseball was our game. We played work-up, with a couple batting and when a batter was out he went to the outfield/any field and then worked his/her way back, catching and pitching too. It was so far from real baseball/softball even, but you got to try to hit the ball and then run and if you made it on base, you tried to get to the next base, and tried to get home before it was your turn to bat again. It helps a kid understand the game.
The Sunday before my mother died she organized a game with a family at a picnic ground. Mark the bases and where the pitcher stands. She caught and did whatever umping was done.
I think that baseball = the American sport = has that universal thing that follows us through life like not too many other experiences. When Auster writes about it, I know what he's saying.
You should take a look at that monster book.
When we were going to Loggers games I watched a couple mothers of your kids explaining the game to them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.