WFH and The Saddest Phone Call in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 23, 2022, 5:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are getting shitty weather again. It came on quicker and stronger than the weatherperson (and even the weather app) predicted. I hate to say it, but I wasn’t prepared either. I’d looked at the hourly weather forecast before I left work last night and saw that we were going to be okay today - that I’d leave a little early if I saw the storm approaching.

Well. It surprised us all by approaching last night and left us with a light coating of ice on the roads this morning. My boss sent a text telling me to work from home if I could and I was like, um. I have to go in to get my laptop…

The office is a good 30 minute drive on a good day. Each way.

So I spent the better part of two hours this morning driving slowly into the office, picking up my laptop and some documents and then turning around and heading straight back home.

LUCKILY, I took side streets and the roads were not yet completely iced over. That is all changing right now as the sleet will likely fall until the middle of the day tomorrow. It’s not getting above freezing for days.

I barely made it!

You should see all of the cars spinning out and crashing on the highways. So glad I was able to get in and out unscathed. Now I have a bajillion things to get done.

Had a presentation with a buyer a while ago that went really well, so there’s that. Still doesn’t help me tear down my line and then re-create it in the next day. Ugh. Sucks.


Do you want to hear about the saddest phone call I’ve ever had?

I was talking with my mom last night on our nightly call and I could hear in the background that my dad wanted to tell me about their dinner.

A little backstory: about 10 or 15 years ago, my parents started to do a weekly dinner with some couple friends of theirs. There were three couples (including my mom and dad). Sometimes they’d have guest appearances (I attended a couple of the dinners, and other folks did too from time to time), but they had this standing Tuesday night dinner for years and years and they’d become such great friends, these couples. They were from all different backgrounds and from all over the country and they all just loved each other like family.

Well, last night, mom and dad decided to go to one of the places they used to go with these couples - just the two of them. And at this particular restaurant, my mom and dad used to order a special dish a certain way…and just like old times, they decided to order their special dish with their special request. And the waitress put their order in.

Later, the cook came out and said that she remembered my mom and dad from their special order and also remembered that they used to come in with all of their friends. So she asked where the friends were…

And right then, in the middle of the story, my dad just broke down in these huge, heavy sobs and just said he couldn’t talk any more and handed the phone back to my mom.

It’s because all of their friends have passed away.

Oh, my broken heart! I just ache so badly for my precious dad (and mom, of course, but my dad has just turned into this emotional softy lately and I just feel such heartbreak sometimes).

I wish I knew how to comfort him.


OK. I need to get some work done.

Heartbroken,
GS


The Author February 23, 2022

Ohmigosh, I can't even imagine how that tugged at your heart. How do you comfort someone who is faced with the realization that all their friends are gone and now is staring at his own mortality? If you figure that one out, let me know!

Jinn February 23, 2022

Your poor Dad. You are right , that is sad.
Glad you got home safe !

colder February 23, 2022

So sad. I remember reading an article about this once, written about a man who was in his 90s and had outlived almost everyone he knew. It’s a sadness and a challenge that most experience but few so broadly.

Life always has us learning, experiencing, losing, coping, and trying to move on no matter how long we are here.

I hope your dad and mom are able to find some comfort.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ February 24, 2022

Right? Mom and Dad are becoming the oldest ones among their friend group. Neither one of them has had any serious medical issues, so they are outliving everyone. It's a blessing and a curse.

plushcreep February 23, 2022

I think that's the hardest part about growing old: watching friends and loved ones pass away. Your poor dad. :(

Kojot February 23, 2022

😢 Omg, bless his sensitive heart!!! My heart goes out to them both.

Ginger Snap Kojot ⋅ February 24, 2022

Yeah.

Complicated Disaster February 24, 2022

</3 Bless. Your parents sound lovely. xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ February 24, 2022

Awwww, most of the time they are (mostly my dad - my mom can be a little tough, though I feel bad for saying that)

Parliament February 24, 2022

It's jarring to see your parents distressed.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ February 24, 2022

So jarring. Especially my dad who has been calm as a cucumber my whole life.

WhatDreamsMayCome February 24, 2022

Probably the saddest thing about ageing.
Sorry for their loss.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ February 24, 2022

Thanks - yep. So very heartbreaking.

Nash February 24, 2022

We have a local lady who calls our department in city government once or twice a day. I don't know how old she is but she sounds elderly and dementia is obviously an issue. She always asks us the same thing, what is the day, date and time? While it is not our job to accommodate her we always do and she lingers for a while on the phone and makes small talk. First week of January rolls around and she called and I picked up. I did our normal ritual and she was so completely surprised by my answer. She was very upset she could not remember Christmas. I don't know why that hit me so hard emotionally, I actually had to leave the room to compose myself after she hung up. Still bothers me.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ February 25, 2022

Oh my GOSH. It's so hard. And to watch your parents in this situation is really weird and heart-wrenching. I wrote in an entry the other day that my mom forgot that I had to go through chemotherapy! That was so weird since it was pretty much the hardest thing I've ever had to do in my LIFE and she was with me for my last chemo round!

It guts me.

Deleted user February 26, 2022

Ouch.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ February 27, 2022

Yeah. It hurt.

pandora February 27, 2022

Oh my God, that is so heartbreaking. It's one thing to hear your mom cry, which is sad, but to hear your dad cry is something else... :(

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ February 27, 2022

I know! My dad has turned into an old softie (he's always been a sweet guy, but this is on another level).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.