I think you can have a friendship with people who also respect you as a mentor. Many times it makes them feel lucky to have such a good, attentive friend. Id be willing to bet they see you in a friendship light and are concerned that they're not good enough to be YOUR friend.

Also I like this "change their world". That's been my philosophy when people get overwhelmed with their inability to change THE world on a larger scale. Focus on your small pond and make an impact there!

But I get you on these feelings of not being worthy or thinking that people can't truly like you unless you're doing something for them. It's a mind over matter for me. Like, I had a group of friends where I was like, the leader almost. Wherever I went in our friend group, they all followed. Whatever plans I suggested, they all jumped on board. I'm talking things like traveling, not stuff like dinner. Regardless I still felt no one really truly liked me, or thought of me as important or as a friend. I had to lay the data out; would people who didn't like me or not want to be around be be spending thousands of dollars a year to travel and take off their jobs to be around me? I had one friend say "you're like the mom of the group and everyone else the children" cuz I did all the organizing and budgeting and money collecting for our group travels. I cooked and arranged activities. Nevertheless the feelings of not being liked or wanted always persisted. I have to look at things for what they ate and ignore my trauma responses from childhood. It still persists. And I've even pulled away from many of these same people because of it. Our past hurts can really affect us.