This warrants Taco Bell™. in Exerbabble III

  • Feb. 18, 2022, 4:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I squatted 235 lbs for a double.

I think this is the third post I’ve made about this? Guess I’m trying to repeat it to myself, as it doesn’t feel like much of an accomplishment.

Oh well, walked into the gym today, and hit a recent best while warming up. Ha ha. But, those are the best, in a way. The accomplishments when you’re not even psyching yourself up. I hit 225 lbs for a double last session, so it made sense to just add 10 lbs. I could have tried 225 lbs for a triple, but I had a feeling I might, well. Psyche myself out. I knew I could get 235 for at least a single, and I was right.

“Sport Psychology” is a legitimate thing, ha ha.

alt text

Looks like I was just hitting 3x5 three times a week. Just cruising along. Then I thought “I’ll do the same thing, but with 8’s!” but strength doesn’t quite work that way.

alt text

This actually makes me curious just how much I’ll squat next week. I thought 275 lbs was way off. I may not even attempt a top double next week. One of those things where if you hit a mark, you’ll want to beat it “next time”. Whereas with deadlift…

Hit a top double of 295 lbs. Just a supramaximal warm-up. Then 3x3 @ 275 lbs. Bar speed was pretty good. Supinated hand kept slipping just slightly. I’d rather improve grip strength than invest in straps. If I could pull 315 for five when I was 152 lbs, I should be able to do it now, especially since I’m frakking 20 lbs heavier. (Weighing more means more leverage. I… don’t entirely understand the physics of it.)

But yeah. I’ll either pull 315 lbs for AMRAP* or ramp doubles. I bet I have a 325 lb double in me. One step closer to pulling 365 lbs.

*AMRAP = as many reps as possible

Three more sessions left this week. (My “weeks” don’t align with the calendar week.) Psyched to see what I can do before my vacation.

alt text


Fawkes Gal February 18, 2022

I think my sister's going to be on that same cruise. X-D

Timmy™ Fawkes Gal ⋅ February 18, 2022

Nice! She'll be in good company.

https://startrekcruise.s3.amazonaws.com/sttc21/docs/STTC22.dailyschedules.pdf

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.