happy surprises in 2022

  • Feb. 17, 2022, 7:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

11:43

My brain wants to come in here and tell you all about how much it’s suffering right now. How much it hurts to take every single step. How depressed and sad it’s feeling.
But my heart says I should learn to distract myself with happier things. After all, some circumstances we have no control over and just can’t change.

So, let’s see:

Sometime after my last entry, could have been that night or the next, EC showed up with a beautiful bunch of flowers. Oh, it must have been Friday night because that’s when he went to Costco. He doesn’t usually do random little things like that, especially since we weren’t “celebrating” Valentine’s until Tuesday. It was super sweet and caught me off guard. =)

That man has been so great to me. I am so lucky.

We waited until Tuesday to do our celebrating since that’s the day he usually stops by for dinner. I guess Sunday was the pre-celebration since I did decorate the table outside in hearts and all that. The neighbour’s were supposed to come over but didn’t make it. That’s ok though. The al pastor tacos came out amazing! Plus EC made these little chunks of pork belly that were cooked to perfection! Yum! I’m normally not a big fan but these were so delicious. It was a good night.

On Monday we just did the usual hugs and kisses can’t wait to see you thing.

Luckily on Monday I also spoke to my doc and she prescribed a dose pack of prednisone. We went to pick that up after work and I took my first dose that night. Started working before I even went to bed. Best sleep I’ve had in a while and Tuesday I woke up feeling great. Even forgot I needed a cane a few times during the day!
[Unfortunately those wonderful feelings have lost their allure as I’ve tapered off the dose and am right back where I started; if not worse. But no sad things brain!]

So Tuesday was great. EC made it into town about 20 minutes early and picked me up from work so we could start dinner. I made a white rice and green beans while he prepped the salmon and garlic bread. By the time mom got home just after 6 we basically had every thing ready. EC was finishing up the salmon so it would still be warm and popping open a bottle of white wine we got from our tasting back in January.

Another absolutely delicious meal! I don’t know why we make such good food. hah. Even the stuff I made was good and we all know I’m not much of a cook. It was a good night though and I never knew I loved salmon so much until I met EC. That dinner is one of my favorites. It’s amazing.


sidenote: Lent is starting soon and although EC is not religious he’s going to support me on this year’s journey. Last year we gave up beer [ouch!] and started contemplating doing the same this year. Well that spiraled into “hey let’s give up beer plus red meat…” And well starting the first week in March we are now officially giving up: beer, red meat, and pork. We’re still drinking other alcohol because we’re not crazy! But only eating seafood and poultry. Yikes. Not sure how it’s going to go. I’m sure we’re strong enough to make it. Or at least stubborn enough to stick to the challenge! =P


Well anyway, great dinner and then EC could barely finish eating before he wanted to open gifts. Apparently couldn’t contain himself. And he did such a cool job on the gifts too! He handed me this one package, still wrapped in it’s shipping paper, and I had no idea what it could be. I started unwrapping it and it was this piece of plexiglass covered in film. hmm? Ok.
Turns out it was actually a really awesome gift. Not that I doubted it, but I was confused. It’s this piece of plexiglass with a map on it of the location of our first date. Below that is etched the date, “dinner and a movie”, the name of the restaurant, and the map coordinates.

I’ve seen things like this before with the stars or coordinates but never the actual map. It’s another really sweet, completely unexpected gift from him! That man never ceases to surprise me!

The rest of the gift included Valentine’s Day socks, a cute stuffed elephant with funny pink ears, and a card with a silly googly eyed dog on the outside. Inside he wrote some stuff about bettering himself because he definitely sees us having a future together. [This is a reference to a conversation I had to have with him last weekend that maybe I’ll get into later].

Overall it’s been a wonderful Valentine’s and the plan is to continue it with a post-celebration on Sunday of the “official” fancy dinner!

I’m really hoping the mini-bundt cake maker I ordered arrives tomorrow! haha.

rose.
17:18


Last updated February 21, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.