I need... in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Feb. 17, 2022, 1:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I told my husband I need 4 things… these are not wants.. these are needs.
- Lap Top
- Twin Bed
- Hospital Table
- iPad

Let me explain-
The laptop I have isn’t that old.. I’d say it is at least 5 years old and worked well till the last 6 months. Parts of the keyboard quit working, so I am using an external keyboard. The laptop also keeps zero charge. As soon as I unplug it to move to another part of the house, it shuts off.

I do have a desktop but sitting at the computer desk kills my legs and makes my ankles swell if I sit for long periods and I do almost live on my computer when I am home, and it is not warm and sunny outside.
3 years ago, I took the computer desk/hutch out of my Woman Cave and got a Futon. I set the Monitor on a small high table and had the keyboard on my lap and the mouse on the arm of the couch and I propped my legs on an ottoman. That futon made my back ache bad! So, I moved the recliner I had in the bedroom in here and started using my laptop. I rarely used it. Just we went out of town or when I was downstairs or when I watched TV in the Loft with my husband. (I need to Multi-Mask when I watch TV), but the recliner made my back hurt too so I got a couch (second hand) and used that for a while, but I found the style of it messed with my hips. I couldn’t sit there long. Not only did it mess with my hips but the position of my body in that couch and putting my legs on an Ottoman and having a laptop resting down on my legs, made the back of my knees hurt. And I allowed them to begin to ache one time too many. In that it stretched out my left knee and tore my Meniscus. That is the only thing I did that could have contributed to that.
For 6 weeks my knee was swollen. I went on Vacation and my knee improved some, but I still couldn’t bend my knee very well for almost 8 months. Twice in that time I was in extreme intense pain. I did go to the Dr he thought it was a Bakers Cyst and then the next time I went he gave me pain pills and ordered PT,,, Then Covid hit and I figured I could wait on the PT.
I pitched the Couch… actually it is in my garage. Probably a stray mouse has since made a home in it. And I brought the recliner back into the Woman Cave. I used a Lumbar Support Pillow which was greatly helpful!
However, for long periods makes my ankles hurt whether I am reclined or not. If I am not reclined the cushion of the chair hits right in the back of my knees and makes them hurt particularly my left knee. If I recline, it stretches out my left knee and makes it hurt too.

IF IT ISN’T ONE THING, IT IS ANOTHER
SO>>> Frustrating!
And well I know it is part age and the lack of exercise.
I do better to NEVER sit. When I am out and about all day, I have no issues with my legs. It is when I come home and sit.

Last summer I went to California for 3 1/2 weeks and I did not have my laptop. All I had was my OLD iPad that is s-u-p-e-r slow, hasn’t been able to update in like 4 years, won’t do various things but I can view Facebook, play some games. It won’t allow me to do any email. That is the reason I need a new one of those… I need it for when I go on trips to get Online for email and Zoom and a few games and if I have a Book on there. Do I have an iPhone? Yes, but I don’t use it for any of that stuff. Plus, it also is outdated. We haven’t been able to update for a year now. We need new phones too.

Anyway, for those 3 1/2 weeks, my legs did not bother me at all!
I think because I didn’t have a 5-pound laptop on my lap.. and well because I was up and down more often too.
I notice when I go to the spare bedroom and kick back on the bed that the laptop does not bother my leg(s) much and it takes longer for them to be bothered at all. My ankles do not swell or feel odd.
So that is why I need a Twin Bed in here or a Daybed.... something like that with a similar mattress. I want to be in my Woman Cave. My TV is in here and it is a warmer and brighter room. Cheery.

I went to Physical Therapy in December for my left knee (I no longer have the Meniscus issue but another issue), and I have come to the conclusion that I got to get this laptop OFF- my- legs for any PT to do me any good.
So, I need a Hospital Table to swing over the bed, and that way the laptop will be on the table and not pressing into my legs limiting circulation.
And/or I need a Cable long enough to hook the laptop to the TV of which I will also use a wireless Keyboard and Mouse.
I do get tired of sitting on the bed too much, so when I need a break, I do have a 6-foot table in here that I do jigsaws and projects on that I can use for short periods.

I think for the best health of my body, I need those 4 things.
I think I have convinced my husband… seeing today when I arrived home, I found the 1st of 4 sitting on the kitchen counter.
A new laptop.
EDIT- Thursday 2-17-22
This morning, the Wireless Keyboard and mouse came… and the iPad came.
The only reason the Bed and Table are not here is because I haven’t shown him what I wanted. He made the choice on the electronics which is fine. I do have specifics about the bed.
As far as the Laptop.. I could have made good with what I am using now.. an external keyboard and gotten the Hospital Table to have in front of me for the laptop itself. I had no idea he was going to buy those things yet, I figured he would wait until I said it was critically needed.
The iPad was justifiable.. It was old as in what technology thinks. It was actually his hand-me down when he got a new one 6 years ago.


Last updated February 17, 2022


ConnieK February 24, 2022

It sounds like no matter what position you're in, there is no relief. Maybe move the spare bedroom mattress to your bed? YAY for a new laptop!

Bird of Paradise ConnieK ⋅ February 24, 2022 (edited February 24, 2022)

Edited

The best relief I get doing things on my feet like Shopping! or even organizing the garage... That is a constant because it doesn't stay organized long. And other Organizing throughout the house. I cant just stand still like at a table in front of a computer. My muscles got to be moving.
The spare bedroom is for guests when we have them. It is a queen size bed. There is a TV in here. I watch Netflix and Amazon Prime on occasions on it. The room is darker and cooler. Good place on warmer days. Bad place in cooler because this room doesn't get much heat for some reason.
My Woman Cave stays toasty in the Winter and gets much warmer in the Summer but I like warmth, I have a TV in there that gets Cable. I have a 5 foot table in there for projects or Jigsaws. At the moment I have recliner, but my legs just hate that thing. I soon am going to put a Cot in there until I get the Twin size Bed and Hospital Table. I need to get the laptop off my lap!
Then I will be able to either sit at a table or kick back in the same room. And I need to do both moderately.
Then I need to add Exercise. I can watch Movies while I use the treadmill or stationary bike with the TV in that room.
My routines needs to change. I have known that for a long while. It is just becoming more apparent!

ConnieK Bird of Paradise ⋅ February 24, 2022

I need to exercise more, too, but I don't have much energy anymore. I've been lucky with my legs: no knee/hip issues. My Achilles heel is the base of my neck.

Deleted user February 28, 2022

Wow! You are getting old! I can say that because I’m the same age. Your husband has really come through for you! That’s nice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.