personal space in 2022

  • Feb. 10, 2022, 7:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

16:10

I feel like writing, but I’m not sure what I have to say.

This morning I was able to work up the energy to drive out to get my blood tests done. EC had told me in our morning phone call that he would take the time tomorrow to drive me back and forth. It’s a super sweet gesture and I love him for volunteering to help me, but it doesn’t make any sense for him to take time off work and go out of his way to drive me. So I worked up the courage and left after I dropped mom at the office.

It only took me about a half hour to get there, but then, ugh, what a show. In the past, I’ve always been in and out within about 10 minutes. There’s never anybody in there. Holy cow though! I must have picked the wrong day/time because the tiny place got packed! My anxiety started to skyrocket [thanks pandemic paranoia] and despite only having two people ahead of me it took a good 30 minutes or more. People just kept filing in despite there being no empty seats and people that were done sat around waiting for others.

Dude! You see it’s packed. Freaken get up and go to your car! Then I finally got in, and four tubes later, I was trying to sprint [with my cane] out the door. There’s a narrow margin to get through the door in-between all the people sitting. So I’m zig-zagging and I get to the door as this lady is coming from the outside. She can very clearly see me, and my cane, coming at her. She starts to open the door and I think “cool, she’s gonna hold it for me”, but instead she comes straight at me! Forcing me to try to find space to move out of the way in a hurry and nearly tipping over. I was already annoyed so I mumbled something like “uhhh, ok then” and tried to get around to the door. Well at that point she decides she has suddenly seen me standing there and tries to reach back over the top of me to open the door.

Seriously lady?! You already forced me to move and now you’re trying to come back around me to open the door. Like just get out of my way! I was already all worked up because people were so close together and then she was in my face trying to reach. Ugh. Super annoying.

And I know, it’s not a big deal. She attempted to apologize. But every thing was working against me at that point and I couldn’t help but getting upset over it. Have a little respect for people and their personal space, especially now, and especially when you see I can barely move!

Just, ugh, whatever.

I was probably a little hangry too. shrug

On my way back I stopped in the next town over to pick up prescriptions and decided to eat my cold mcdonald’s breakfast in the parking lot. I texted EC but he called me back later while I was on the road. Mostly just wanted to vent anyway. Grabbed my stuff and came back to work.

I’m good now. Though slightly still annoyed at the world.

I should probably start packing up the office so we can head out as soon as the last client leaves. EC is coming over for “slow cooker surprise” which is really just a new pork chop recipe that I hope is good.

rose.
17:13


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.