What is “The Truth?” in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Feb. 8, 2022, 3:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been pondering this interesting statement from a video by an Indian yogi, Shri M. He said, “Very few people actually want to seek out the truth for themselves.” And this, “Very few people are actually seekers of the truth.”

I understand where Shri M is coming from, but I have this reaction: How many people have the time and motivation to dive deep into the very heart of existence and consciousness and seek something as abstract as “the truth?” There are universal truths, individual and personal truths, and truths explicated by enlightened beings. Most people have to survive and the “truth” is their daily lives and experiences. One does not have to be an intellectual to know intuitively the “truths” in metaphysics, epistemology, and philosophy. It helps but is not the be all and end all.


Last updated February 09, 2022


Jinn February 08, 2022

People who have a great desire to seek the truth for themselves will make it their most important priority to seek it . That is the reason I believe there are monks, yogis , and shamans. Their lives are about truth seeking and understanding the Mysteries , more than their desire to survive. They trust the Universe to provide. They give up participating in daily mundane material life and live as best they can. I think that is why Tibetan monks beg for their food ; a sort of a symbol that their search and beliefs remind them daily to be humble and make their spirituality their priority . I don’t think many in the modern world of today can begin to understand that way of life .

Deleted user February 08, 2022 (edited February 08, 2022)

Edited

Unitarian-Universalists have a great view on truth: It is anything but dogma. It is very much "love the questions." My questions let me to atheism. (So much for 12 years of Catholic school!)

https://www.uua.org/beliefs/what-we-believe/principles/4th

Personally, I do not like when people say "the truth," as though there is only one. Barring certain tenets of science and laws of physics, I do not believe there is only one. Philosophically, nope, no way.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ February 09, 2022

I hear you about all those years of Catholic school. I have some acquaintance with those institutions.

Unitarian Universalism has long intrigued me. Congregationalists also. Liberal churches and free thinkers. That appeals to me.

Although not an athiest, I wrestle with the question of “truth”, what it means, why we seek it, and whether finding it is the answer to everything. (I hope this isn’t too vague!🥺)

Sleepy-Eyed John February 08, 2022

I understand.

The JW dogma is called "The Truth"

Deleted user February 09, 2022

Not easy to respond to this without hurting feelings and beliefs I think.
Take care my friend and have a nice day. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.