Sense of normality? in Stuff

  • Feb. 7, 2022, 11:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t written in a little while again, but I’ve been out of quarantine for a week and it’s been nice getting back to my routine I guess. The first day felt weird even walking around in the fresh air, and I had to keep wearing my mask even outdoors for a further week, so I’ve done everything by the book. Today is the first day I can actually hang out with friends again. I was all good though, negative day 1 and 6, no symptoms in the second week, so I can only go by my body and assume I am okay, mainly due to RAT’s still being in such short supply, although thankfully the supply seems to be gradually improving. The latest federal government joke is that they will be TAX DEDUCTIBLE - LOLZ - these guys need to G-O. G-G-O (that’s an old Australian Gogomobile Yellow-Pages ad reference).

So getting out of quarantine meant that I could get my booster. Once again, completely nervous and paranoid about how it would affect me. I’d booked it in for the Wednesday so it meant if I was sick as a dog, I could take more time off work, but man I was thankful to be back at work. It’s alright having time off work when I can actually do shit, but it’s not so much fun when I can’t leave the shoebox apartment haha.
Anyway, I am so proud of my body. Whatever’s going on in there has handled all three vaccine doses (so far) incredibly well, and I haven’t had any issues whatsoever. Unlike some of my close-friend group who have felt like they’ve been hit like a truck. I went to my usual doctor for this third one, and he actually suggested to me to get the Moderna for my third, but followed that up with that it was obviously up to me. I didn’t take his advice and stuck with the Pfizer. The nurse had to make up a fresh vile for me as apparently everyone else that day had been getting the Moderna. A few months ago, AZ was the only option at my usual doctor’s, hence why I got the jabs elsewhere.

My state government has gotten rid of the QR check-ins at non-vaccine-required venues as of yesterday, so that’s.... stupid. I don’t really understand it, other than it being nice not having to get my damn phone out all the time now, but they aren’t even contact tracing anywhere anymore and haven’t for months, so I don’t understand why they are keeping it on at the vaccine venues, but hey, there must be a reason. Most people are commenting with laughing emoji’s and saying they haven’t been checking in for months now anyway lol. I can vouch for that at work - probably only half the customers do. At least my work is non-vaccine.
We finally reached 90% double-dose today, but masks seem to be staying on. I’m so used to wearing it anyway. They keep saying the case numbers are going down and that we’re over our ‘peak’ but people just simply aren’t getting tested nor registering their results, because let’s face it, who wants to be locked up for a week?

Our international borders open up again in two weeks, so that’s interesting I guess. Somewhat heartening getting a somewhat feeling of normality after so many years.

I’ve been umming and ahhing about whether to cancel my Mardi Gras trip the last few days, but today I decided to book some events there to attend, so I guess I’ll still be going haha. I can’t just be boring all the damn time and the borders were still shut last year so that was my excuse for not going. I don’t know if I want to attend the underwear party though. I’m a bit self-conscious about it, plus it doesn’t seem that Covid-safe to me, plus is almost $100 a ticket, so maybe I’ll just stick to my movie and the Mardi Gras parade instead. It’ll mean I’ll probably miss out on seeing Sydney-Luke in his hot underwear (as it’s the only place I ever seem to see him during the year) but it’s not like I have a chance with him anyway haha.
Darren Hayes is performing at the parade, so that’ll be exciting. It looked so cool on the TV last year also, and is an outdoor event, so I’ll be brave and go and enjoy the show. The afterparty has already been cancelled this year, so that’s why I’m surprised the underwear party is still going ahead. I guess that means they can dance again in NSW?


Last updated February 08, 2022


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.