I’m being manipulated.. in Life Lessons

  • Jan. 31, 2022, 3:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Everyone in my life is trying to manipulate me and I don’t know what to do… my husband is trying to spend all my money that I worked hard for, he also tells his parents all about my private business… my dad is trying to push him out of my financial business and trying to do it all himself.. (he is a financial advisor) my mom is just super moody (gets mad about stupid stuff, is a pill) my MIL is a complete pill and hates me (it’s very noticeable) my SIL is the same… ever one is just manipulative… my husband tries to say my parents are the ones being manipulative, but honestly he’s worse) his mom will tell him to buy and expensive thing so he will just take my money without us having a conversation about it.. if I try to talk to my husband about how he is being he just gets pouty and makes me the bad guy… what do I do?! I feel like I’m failing in all aspects of life..


Miss Chiffs Manager January 31, 2022

This is a classic no-win, I agree.
Ultimately, I would get into therapy and do it ASAP if you want this relationship to work out. There is no going back from fundamental trust violations, and that's where this is headed. Discover your boundaries, tell the truth to manipulators- it's liberating! There will be no ambiguity.

CountryGirl Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ January 31, 2022

Couples therapy or just me? I really want to! I just don’t understand it..

Miss Chiffs Manager CountryGirl ⋅ January 31, 2022

Both. Therapy may uncover motivations or a value to stay together. It may reveal the opposite. But if you wait too long the choice will be made for you :/

Kojot January 31, 2022

You leave all of them. You build a wall that is resistant to toxicity, and you keep everyone that disrupts your peace on the other side of it. You feel every aspect of hurt, anger, and grief that it brings you. You feel it 100%. And you channel all of those horrible feelings, and you let them remind you why you are CHOOSING to walk away from it - because you are strong, and you don't deserve to feel that way. If you decide to stay, the animosity will only stay and linger. So. You leave it all, and you start to heal and rebuild. It'll feel hopeless at first. A week will pass. It'll feel better. You'll have peaks and valleys of happiness and hopelessness. Stay strong. What you do is you walk away, you hold your head up, you don't look back, and you remember the hurt to fuel your growth.

.bleu. Kojot ⋅ February 01, 2022

^THIS 100%!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.