Quarantine in Stuff

  • Jan. 24, 2022, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the new housemate has tested positive. Great! He’s doing the right thing and isolating to his room, disinfecting everything he touches and letting me know when he’s leaving his room whilst wearing a mask. All one can do I guess.
He got sent home from work yesterday with a fever and took a test that came back negative. I asked him this as I was in the lounge and he was touching things. I guess I was far enough away? But he took a follow-up test today and it has come back with a faint line. So Greeeeeeeeeat. I feel fine at the moment, but I’m not holding much hope for myself. I can’t tell if it’s just hot as fuck up here or if he’s passed it on to me lol. The joys of it being the sweaty arse-crack of Summer 18-stories high. I’ve just opened everything up, turned the fans on and will wear a mask and disinfect things over the next week. I’m not even sure what the damn rules are anymore. Apparently I’m a close contact if I’ve spent over 4 hours in a room with someone? Who the fuck knows anymore. It keeps chopping and changing. I’ve managed to get some RATS but they are hardly anywhere near enough. I guess I have to take one to make sure and if I’m okay I can leave the apartment? I kind of want to spend most days outside and only come home to sleep with my air purifier on.

Okay, after a bit more research, it looks like I am trapped in my apartment with a Covid positive person. YAY! Not.
But with the new close-contact essential worker rules, I can still be asked to work, as I am in a critical industry. I have to consent to working though, and I have to take a work-provided RAT before my first shift, and every two days during my quarantine period.

I guess this is my first brush with Covid. Fun times! So I’m either going to be stuck inside with an inevitably contract the virus from him, or I’ll be allowed to go to work to at least get away from it for a little bit. What a joke. Looks like it’s a good time to binge-watch something.

Oh and the USA and UK classifying Australia as “high risk”when they have 700,000 daily Covid cases made me laugh this week lol.


cazoob January 25, 2022

Oh no! How annoying! That's so hard when you're forced to quarantine with a positive person.
Good luck! And if you end up binge-watching anything good let me know lol.

Swanny January 25, 2022

omg - are you OK? do you have a sore throat? temperature? let me know if you need a care package to cheer you up!!! can't send you RATS but can send toilet paper! hahaha

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ January 25, 2022

Oh thankyou. I'm totally fine at the moment. Just basically confined to my room for a week and wearing a mask and disinfecting everything in the kitchen area. Thankfully we have our own bathrooms.

Fawkes Gal January 25, 2022

Ah fuck. It's just impossible to avoid this thing, isn't it?

s.q.u.e.a.k January 25, 2022

Good luck!

Perpetually Plump January 25, 2022

My daughter did not get COVID the first time I had it, despite living in my house with me and us taking no precautions to prevent her from getting it. Keep hope that you may not get it, either!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.