Sunday 01/23/22 in Lady Loves the Ocean

  • Jan. 23, 2022, 8:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Morning Sunday. I woke again around 6 am. I didn’t fall asleep until around Midnight. I was dead tired. I am not sure why I can’t sleep in.

I expected to wake up to fresh snow. But we didn’t get any. We are expected to get 1-3 inches today. It is cold this morning. 12 degrees. Tomorrow will be a nice 30 degrees. And then back into the teens and - temps overnight. I can handle it when we do have some days that are above freezing. It makes those - days more bearable. This is Iowa after all.

I went out yesterday to get groceries. It was cold and windy. It didn’t feel like it was in the ’20s. I stocked up on a lot of stuff. Meat prices are outrageous. I did buy some ground turkey and ground beef. I couldn’t afford anything else. I think I am going to make a big pot of spaghetti today. I can eat on that for a few days. Tater Tot casserole is another one I am going to make. Maybe some goulash. I like having leftovers for the week. Easy to warm stuff up and they taste better. I got fruit. Bananas, apples, grapes, and pineapple. Salad fixings.

I had a couple of conversations with my brother yesterday. The one that lives in Arizona. He has been working on ancestery.com to build our family tree. I had an account there as well. We are both finding it interesting doing this. My mom came from a family of 10 siblings. They have all passed away. My father had 4 siblings and they are all gone as well. My brother likes looking at the old pictures of our grandparents and great-grandparents. We didn’t have much contact with our aunt’s uncles and cousins. All our family members died in their 50’s except my dad’s mom. She was 87. I hope I live that long. Doing your family tree is very interesting.

My brother is going to be having major back surgery this upcoming week. He is having a spinal fusion. I hate that he is out in Arizona. He is not sure if his wife is going to be able to be with him when he has the surgery. She cannot drive. They live 75 miles from the Hospital. I really wish I could fly out and be of some help. He has a long recovery time ahead of him. I am not sure how it is all going to work out. I will be praying hard for him.

This week I have to get back to the dentist and get things wrapped up with my final denture. I had to cancel all appointments when I lost my vision at the end of December. Now I need to get all the dental stuff completed. And then I will just have to worry about my eye appointments and stuff for my diabetes, Crohn’s, and Leukemia. My Crohn’s is doing much better since I got back on diabetes meds and follow the diet strictly. I hope the eye dr. will tell me I don’t need 4 more shots in my eyes. I just really want to get new glasses so I can read without using cheaters.

It is going to be a lazy Sunday for me. I want to finish the book I am reading. I have some laundry to do. And that is about it. I will see how warm it gets. If it’s tolerable I will take a long afternoon walk. Unless it starts snowing or the sun disappears. It is going to be a good day.

I am out of here.

Sheri


The Author January 23, 2022

Best of luck with the Crohn's and the dental stuff. I'm right there with you on the dental. I'm still paying off my bottom plate because I'm missing two front teeth on the lower, and three on each side on the lower.

I popped out a filling the other day, and it hurts like a bitch, so I've got to get back into the dentist about that. If he says anything about a root canal, I'm going to tell him to pull it. I don't have the money for a root canal right now - particularly while I'm still trying to pay off my plate. The Care Credit card is supposed to help, but I got that card so I could take care of my fur babies while I submit to their pet insurance. The big balance I'm carrying is all dental work.

ladylovestheocean The Author ⋅ January 24, 2022

I have the care credit card as well. That is what paid for my top denture and to have the teeth pulled. So I will be paying on it for a while. Which sucks. But I have to have teeth.

The Author ladylovestheocean ⋅ January 24, 2022

I actually got the Care Credit card because I have a dog and three cats. It helps pay their vet bills until their pet insurance pays me back - then I just pay the difference. I didn't have a choice but to use it for my bottom plate, and I'm still paying that off. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.