I need some advice… in Life Lessons

  • Jan. 21, 2022, 1:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So my husband has a full time job and I work part time and stay at home to clean and cook. Lately we have been struggling to pay bills so I have been working more hours to help pay for things (I have been buying my fuel, our groceries, paying for my husband to go to night school, etc.) he also owes money on a few things we have bought, we live in an old house that needs repairs (so we pay for repairs instead of rent) and we are trying to save up for a house. My husband was really close to his uncle and his uncle sold a bike and my husband got it as a gift, it needs repairs so my husband doesn’t ride it, then his uncle passed away and they are just going through his things, he had another bike and offered to let my husband but it for 2000$, he says it’s sentimental and he wants both of them (he will later have to pay to repair the first one) I told him we need to think like adults and is that the best place to put our money, he blew up saying he’d regret it, yelled and called me names for trying to be logical because he wants it and I’m just a jerk…
Am I the jerk in the situation? Should I just let him get it? I just don’t understand why he needs both of them..


Deleted user January 21, 2022

People married or not who combine their money and aren't independent and don't save money for emergencies are jerks

CountryGirl Deleted user ⋅ January 21, 2022

I try to explain it to him and he just gets mad..

Deleted user CountryGirl ⋅ January 21, 2022

Then don't explain anything to him put your money in a different account

Jodie January 21, 2022

Stupid question? Why wouldn't they just give him the bike? I mean it was his Uncles right and isn't he part of the family?
I would say tell him no he can't afford it and if he really does want it then he needs to get a second job....

CountryGirl Jodie ⋅ January 21, 2022

I don’t know.. you would think they would..

Jodie CountryGirl ⋅ January 21, 2022

I hope everything will work out and then you or he won't need second and third jobs.
Here is something else that is what I call not bright...What if he doesn't go to school so that money can be used for the bike if he wants it that bad? it's not fair that you have to take it out of YOUR money.

Miss Chiffs Manager January 21, 2022

Uh. Whether or not he should get the bike is not a problem... blowing up, yelling and calling you names is crossing a major line. That level of aggression (or any level) is abusive and intolerable.
Why is this acceptable behavior?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.