Best three weeks ever! in A small but passable life.

  • Jan. 10, 2022, 5:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was a glorious three weeks. The best ever.

We only managed two visits to the pool before our “Winter” weather set in, with highs only in the low sixties with clouds and then 1 7/8’s of rain on Christmas Eve and another one inch of rain on New Years Eve.

We didn’t leave the RV park at all for three weeks. We took turns cooking and doing dishes. We watched two dozen movies and the first two seasons of Downton Abbey. She played my new acoustic guitar for me. We did some more cleaning out and rearranging of Mom’s house. And we did get two more afternoons at the pool during her last week here. I used Uber Eats to order us smoothies and pizza. Very expensive, but made for a nice New years Eve treat.

And then an incident on New Years Eve threw us both for a loop. We had just come in from outside where I’d smoked a cigarette and took one bong hit. Once back inside I went for a drink of water from the frig, said I was dizzy, made it back to my chair without the water and sat down. The next thing I knew Daughter was standing over me shaking me saying, “Dad, Dad, Dad!” over and over. She got me a glass of water. I was drenched in sweat, but felt better. She sat in her chair and started sobbing. She said, “You really scared me! I thought you were having a stroke! I almost called 911!” I got up and held her tight. “Ssh, ssh Baby. I’m fine.”

So that happened. We had been playing around with Mom’s blood pressure cuff for a week
and Daughter did tell me I was borderline- 145/95. I guess I’d proved her right.

Starting the next day she cleaned the coffee maker and put it away and instead of three cups of coffee a day I went to one cup of pour-over coffee a day. No more bong hits. And definitely cutting back from five smokes a day to one.

And then a few days ago I got a mailer for Life Line Screening services. I called them this morning to make an appointment and pay for a screening on Feb. 8th. The gal on the phone talked me into upgrading from the original eight tests for $149 to the “Gold” plan of a dozen additional tests for a total of $357. We’ll see where this goes. I have a feeling of impending doom.

I hate the medical system. I do blame the system for my Dad’s death in 2005. And my sister’s death in 2015. And Mom’s death in 2020. The system is total chaos.

Anyway, yesterday after Uber cancelled on Daughter’s ride to the airport, by the driver, and it looked like the next ride wouldn’t arrive in time, I went next door to my neighbor Bill’s and asked him for a favor. Within five minutes we were in his car and on our way.

We got her there with time to spare. After a good hug I sent her home.

She called after she landed. She’d made it through security with a forty pound check-in suitcase which included Mom’s new sewing machine, a twenty pound carry on and her knapsack which probably weighed more than twenty pounds and contained the $2500 or so in twenty dollar bills.

Also this morning I rode the scooter to the library and finally printed off the rest of the forms I needed. Now I’ve got the Last Will and Testament, the Power of Attorney, and the Medical Directive to finish up and get notarized. I’ll take them with me when I fly out in the middle of July when the Grandbaby arrives.

It looks like the Moderna boosters are given out between 9 and 10am M-F at the Fry’s pharmacy on a walk-in basis. I’ll try to go this week.

So, here I sit, once again. I’ve nothing pressing to do for the next six months. Nothing but reading here in my chair or at the pool when the weather permits.

According to Daughter I should be eating fruit and vegetables, going for walks, learning yoga, quitting smoking, ect., ect…

We’ll see.


Emily January 10, 2022

Take care of yourself!!

Jinn January 10, 2022

And you need to go have a physical . It’s unnecessary for you to risk dying when this hypertension could be easily treated. Don’t wait; make an appointment. You want to see that grand baby .

Jinn February 18, 2022

What did your tests show ? I hope all is well .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.