New Year in Adventures in paradise

  • Jan. 1, 2022, 4:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s a new year! I would say “Happy” but let’s face it, the last few have been pretty much write-off’s. Hopefully we can get some sense of normality back to life soon. I’m well and truly over it. The latest in my state is masks are back mandatory indoors to try and curb the spread. I’ve been wearing them anyway. I now know three people in real life who have it now. One’s housemate brought it back home, which isn’t exactly comforting for me who will be searching again for one very soon. I guess I just have to get it and get it over with, right? How the hell is everyone else handling this mentally?

Anyway, on New Year’s, we did the movies, games and hangs at Moe, Ben and Archies again. I caught a train straight from work (which was insane on NYE, but nothing unusual) and Luke and Rhys kindly picked me up from a nearby train station, as they were visiting other friends.
Ben had to go to nightshift so wasn’t in the photo I got at the end of the night, but it was nice to see him for a little while.

Probably the one that turned out best, but Steve decided to duck down ergh. Archie’s like “What areyou doing?”
alt text

That’ll do

alt text


Last updated January 01, 2022


Filiola January 02, 2022

I’m in NSW and this whole time we have been the same.. rarely heard of anyone having it, avoiding everything and everyone at all costs. Now boom, it’s here, and EVERYONE has it. And the funny thing is it doesn’t seem scary anymore. Like, my sister, my neighbour, a bunch of people at work, friends with young kids, my in-laws... they all just have runny noses and feel a bit tired. Obviously some are getting it worse, but whether it’s the vaccinations or this new strain (or both?), all of a sudden it seems silly going to extraordinary lengths to try and out run it. I just hope when I get it that I haven’t been around someone vulnerable before I knew because that would still feel really awful!

KissOfLife! Filiola ⋅ January 04, 2022

I hope you are right about the mild symptoms. I agree, I want to keep the vulnerable out of hospital.
Some people on my Facebook have been saying they feel like a Mack truck has hit them. How can it affect people so differently?

Filiola KissOfLife! ⋅ January 04, 2022

I don’t know, it’s weird! I would probably be in the Mack truck group because I’m terrible at being any kind of sick! But I guess as long as the vast majority can recover at home and then get on with it then that’s the main thing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.