Loss of job, gain of jobs, loss of family member, and a move in 2020 Vision

  • Dec. 31, 2021, 3:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Huzzah! I finally cracked the code of what my password is to log back in. That’s how long it’s been! Ahh! And the e-mail address my account is set up with is not an email address I have access to anymore, so you can understand my “reset my password” struggle!

So much to catch up on!

I officially quit my job in the middle of september! FOR GOOD! I just reached a tipping point where I just couldn’t handle it anymore. I had tried to quit one time before but backed down when they offered a raise in exchange for me to stay. Not this time, this time I left. Without a job lined up or anything. I don’t understand why people think you need to have another job lined up before you are allowed to quit your current one. So I told myself I would take 3 months of to just do me.

I went on a small vacation to San Francisco with friends! It was super fun!! We did all the touristy things: Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Cable Car, Painted Ladies (Full House houses), Fishermans Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39, and other places. It was sooooo much fun. I really fell in love with San Francisco.

My dad is still battling his cancer battle. He’s been in and out of the hospital, but has been hospitalized less frequently as of late, so thats a good thing.

My uncle unexpectedly died in October. Because my family bottles up emotions and hard-to-talk-about subjects, I still don’t know what his cause of death is. They still haven’t held a funeral for him. There still hasn’t been an obituary written about him. He was well-known and active in his community, so I’m completely flabergasted as to why my dad and four other uncles just don’t want to do.....anything....for him. My uncle was my 94 yr old grandpa’s caregiver for as far back as I can remember. My uncle didn’t show up for work 3 days in a row so his work sent police over to do a welfare check on him. They had to break down the door because no one answered but they could hear the dog (his poor dog and cat!!) Police found him dead in his bed and they found my 94 yr old grandpa on the floor in the bathroom barely hanging on to life. My grandpa can’t get around, eat, go to the bathroom, etc without the help on my uncle. My guess is my grandpa was trying to use the bathroom after realizing my uncle wasn’t home (but he was, dead in his bed) and slipped and fell trying. He was taken by ambulance to the hospital and doctors pretty much didn’t expect him to make him through the night. He had a cracked hip and was having several mild heart attacks due to dehydration. After about a week of overcoming all odds and getting strong enough to think and speak cognitively enough, we had to find out if he knew what happened to my uncle. He had no idea. He kept asking “when is bob coming to pick me up?” over and over and my uncles had to repeat what they’d already told him over and over again as gently as they could. My grandpa seems to be doing much better now. He’s moved into a nursing facility, and they seem to be treating him very well. Police theorized that my uncle died of a sudden heart attack, but no one has mentioned his actual cause of death. Whenever I try to bring up anything about his memorial (that hasn’t happened) my dad changes the topic. So i have no idea how he actually died. And that sucks.

I’ve also moved out of my apartment and moved to a whole new city/county here in Washington. When the moratorium lifted, apartment complexes in my old county went CRAZY on rent raising. Like my new rent on my 1 bed, 1 bath would have been $300 more than my mortgage was went I was married living in a 4 bed, 2 bath house. It absolutely blows my mind how much 1 bed 1 bath apartments are going for in my old county!

So i moved in with a friend I used to play womens football with. She’s rented the same house for the last 9 years and the landlord has only raised the rent once. This 3 bedroom 1 bath house is cheaper than the 1 bed 1 bath apartment!! Its nuts! And then because there’s two of us, its even cheaper after splitting everything in half! So far there haven’t been any personality conflicts or what not so fingers crossed the living keeps on being easy.

About 1.5 months into my planned 3 month “funemployment” break, i got bored and started looking for jobs. Long story short, I got one pretty quickly but had to wait for my security clearance to go through because its on a navy base and requires a Secret security clearance. I was supposed to start Jan 3rd but its been delayed til Jan 10th because we’ve been having snow storms, and people are on holiday break, and my program manager didn’t think anyone would be in the office to get all of my permissions and accesses set up before I was due to start. So this gives them another week.

I’ve also been doing a side gig at the post office! I told no one except two close friends about this because i didn’t want family to think i was sliding backwards or in need of money. After the whole uncle/grandpa thing, I needed something just to keep me busy. So I took a job as a mail carrier. Got to learn how to drive those little white vehicles and everything! I actually really like that job, but they could only guarantee extremely part time hours and the hourly wage was lower than the Navy base job. But yeah, I really enjoyed it! People get the strangest things in the mail, and I’m the type of person who actually pays attention to what people get haha.

Oh, my ex-husband, who has since remarried and had a baby, moved to Michigan!! So I literally never have to worry about running into him again! But I still think I see him at the grocery store sometimes. Sigh. Anywho, because he never refinanced the house like HE WAS SUPPOSED TO (its written into our divorce decree), we had to get together and fill out paperwork together because my name was still on literally everything, even though I hadn’t lived in the house for over 3 years. Ugh. It sold really quickly tho, thank God! He had lost his job shortly after there baby was born, and I was really worried about how that would affect his ability to pay the mortgage. So, I was happy to read the text saying he wanted to put the house on the market and that I’d never have to worry about running into him again. Still, it was bittersweet.

Anywho, loss of job, gain of job(s), loss of family member, and a move to a whole new county and living with a roommate for the first time since living in the barracks while in the Navy is what’s been going on here. So many life transitions. So this Christmas break....I’ve been taking a break.


Last updated December 31, 2021


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.