Sharp Claws and The Thing With Feathers in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 30, 2021, 4:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The park across the street Tuesday morning. There is a bit less snow and quite a bit more ice over there now as we hit the lowest temperature of this weather event early this morning. This hill is where the iron baron’s mansion was that became our first county hospital that was overrun and torn down after the flu in 1918. The old brick quarters for the nurses are still there, behind the blocked off playground equipment in the back left. It is empty as it has not been seismically retrofitted. That tree has seen a lot in its tenure here.

Who knows what the tribes that lived here before used the land for? We are close to the river so there would have been fishing and there was a stream nearby that ran into the river just on the other side of my place.

I enjoy imagining the various layers of history here even though there is so much change going on. Diego could care less. He had a rough night last night that I don’t suppose has anything whatsoever to do with the bag of tortilla chips he sliced opened when I was out of the kitchen for, oh, eight minutes?

There has been rather a lot of laundry this morning. I can get out locally. Garbage, recycling that sort of thing are all done. I am having groceries delivered tomorrow. By Sunday afternoon we should have the “all clear” and will return to our typical rain saturated January and I’ll be able to get out and walk and go to the store on my own.

It took until yesterday, 5 days, to completely let go and relax. Mrs. Sherlock asked me over for New Year’s Day lunch, but I declined and promised to come the following Sunday with my Tarot cards. I did readings for them all two years ago with her cards. We skipped last year for obvious reasons. This year I will take my own cards. It will still be icy on Saturday and honestly, I am not interested in being an “orphan” holiday invite.

Unless it is my choice I would prefer not to be out and about on big national holidays in this city full of folks that are basically not doing okay.

So far Kes and Most Honorable have kept their power. They are sick though. Kes, more intensely than Most Honorable. They did a rapid test, and it came back negative. Their cold like symptoms match up to reports from the UK on Omicron. They had hours long exposure to a toddler who was sick who tested negative the next day, but this virus is squirrelly. They are not sleeping well.

I wonder if anyone is these days.

Generally, I do sleep well, so no complaints here. I would sleep better if the cats were not using me as a heat source though. That’s on me. They are on me. All the time.

The surprise Christmas gift this year were two ceramic scone pans and 3 different King Arthur scone mixes. The one I will try first, when I get milk delivered tomorrow is lemon ginger. They have wonderful holiday support and I got extra instructions on how to form the scones properly for the pans.

“Station Eleven” is not like any other show I have seen. It’s relationship with time is quite elastic but I admit that even though I read the book when it came out that watching a show about a killer pandemic and the choices people make and why, in the midst of a stupid real life pandemic, I am not sure is good for my psyche.

Hey, at least it isn’t “Squid Game”. I know better than to go anywhere near that.

Time to go back to doing nothing important, or particular. I may or may not talk to the yoga teacher’s group this evening. Our facilitator is all up in these ideas of the mythic journey and technologies of rapture and energy fields.

Ah, but my staying put in front of Zoom for an hour and a half will make one someone very happy. Someone with one eye, and a crooked tail and razor sharp claws (even though I clip them) perfect for attachment to my sweat pants for the duration.

And I can plan my little New Years transition practice to do tomorrow night.

It is not going to be hard to let this last year go at all. Hope we all have a better one… full of hope in a time where hope is more precious than ever.


Last updated December 30, 2021


Zipster December 30, 2021

I just read somewhere that the rapid test doesn't always catch Omicron.

mcbee January 01, 2022

My cats and I have finally come to an agreement where they sleep in the warm bed, but not on top of me. That seems to be working.

"City full of folks that are basically not doing ok" speaks for the state of the nation and the world as well. Sigh.

Deleted user January 01, 2022

I haven't felt inclined to watch Squid Game either. Or Don't Look Up. I watched the second season of The Witcher and still don't quite get the fascination so many people have wiith it, but Henry Cavill sure looks nice. 😉

Deleted user January 02, 2022

What a nice update. Yes, so few of us are truly well - to varying degrees. I think the negative test results are less reliable than just looking at the symptoms these days. I woke up with the symptoms this morning; we are advised to just self isolate, not to get any tests unless symptoms are more than mild.
I miss the days of cats sleeping with us... I admit some envy here. :)
Happy New Year - wishing you health, energy and joy!

Jinn January 15, 2022

I had to turn “ Station 11 “ off after three episodes. It bothered me too much . I don’t seem to tolerate anything dystopian these days well .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.