1 day ago in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Dec. 24, 2021, 10:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I used my new Mixer for the 1st time.
I woke up KNOWING once I used it, I would probably hate it and take it back.

A little background-
When I was growing up, we had a Counter Mixer and my Grandma had one too.
When I got married, I couldn’t afford a Counter Mixer so I settled for a Hand Mixer.
A Hand Mixer did me fine.

When I lived in Wisconsin, one Christmas, I saw Stand Mixers on Sale and I could now afford to get one. There was KitchenAid and there was Sunbeam. At the time the only real difference I could see was the name. Did I need a KitchenAid? as in… Did I need to have a Mixer with The Brand… **KitchenAid on it?… No.. I didn’t, so I got a Sunbeam. And then it sat in the box unopened for all of Wisconsin and all of Colorado and some of Washington! (About 10 years)!
Yeah, I always wanted one and now that I had it, did I really want it?
That Hand Mixer had been just fine!

In Colorado, I sprained my wrist and making cookies and mixing with a spoon in the Bowl was painful so I would use my Hand Mixer but it sure was taxing on that little Hand Mixer!

In November of 2017 I was in California at my brothers, and we talked about making cookies. He was going to make Almond Crescents, (our Grandma’s Recipe) and I was going to make Egg-Nog Cookies. He had got out his Mixer he had from the Stepmother, and he had Grandma’s Mixer, both KitchenAids.
Wow.... This was great mixing up cookies in this Counter Mixer. I liked it so much that when I got home, I opened my Sunbeam Mixer and it became a thing on my Kitchen Counter. Why hadn’t I opened and used this sooner. I certainly had been missing out!
(My brother did ask if I wanted Grandmas Mixer and no I did not because I had my Sunbeam and so he gave it to my daughter).

The Summer of 2018 my B.I.L. moved up here and lived with us for a while. He had been to Chef School a number of years back and he came complete with his kitchen tools and gadgets. One of which was a KitchenAid. Well, we didn’t need two on the counter so my Sunbeam went back in the box and we used his KitchenAid… for 2 years! He had the one paddle that scraped the bowl. I really liked that. That was an issue I had with the Sunbeam in that when it mixed, it sent everything to the sides, and I would have to stop it to scrape the bowl repeatedly. (Even with the KitchenAid you need to scape the bowl now and then but not as much. I did notice that when the bowl in the Sunbeam would automatically spin clockwise it worked like a champ and no scraping was necessary, but it typically only spun counter-clock). The other thing I didn’t like about the Sunbeam is that it was too hard to push the button to tilt up or down the head, and if my hands get any weaker, I would never be able to do it. What I liked about the KitchenAid is you can lock the bowl in place. NOT so with the Sunbeam or at least not with my version. And then there are those extra attachments you can get with the KitchenAid if you so wish. You can’t do that with the Sunbeam.

The Summer of 2020 my B.I.L. got married and he took his KitchenAid with him!!
(I recently mentioned… joking with him about taking his KitchenAid when she probably had one and turns out she does and his is stored away in the garage)!

So, I have talked about getting a KitchenAid because of the features it has and the ease of usage. But it has been just talk because I DO have my Sunbeam that works fine. Not liking it isn’t necessarily a reason to replace it especially on a Retirement Budget!
And then… I was in Costco, and there was a KitchenAid Mixer, on sale, and as a bonus, it came with the Scraper Paddle. So, I bought it!
And then it sat on my counter in the Box for 2 months! LOL
Because......
I realized it was the new Model called a Lift Bowl Stand Mixer. On this one the head doesn’t Tilt, but the Bowl moves up and down. The only 1 negative thing I see to that is getting the beaters off. Maybe I didn’t want this model. I did look Online and read reviews and watch You Tube. Many people like it. I wanted a Kitchen-Aid for the ease of it. Was this style going to be just as easy as the Tilt Head?

Thursday I was making Cookies for our Church after we did some Caroling… and for after the Friday Night Service. I already had packed the Sunbeam away and had the KitchenAid washed and ready to use. This would be the first time to use it. I laid in bed that morning thinking about if I would be packing it up and taking it back to the store.

I think it is a Keeper.


Last updated December 29, 2021


ConnieK December 24, 2021

I love my Kitchenaid mixer. Whipping cream or egg whites is a breeze.

crystal butterfly December 25, 2021

I have a 30 plus year old KitchenAid mixer. Really like it.

Hotaru December 26, 2021

I love my kitchenaid.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.