OTHER PEOPLE'S THINGS in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 21, 2021, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I remember once, or twice, in my twenties longing to own new furniture. Now I am 80 and living with a house filled with other people’s furniture. As an example, my mattress is new, but the bed frame was Harriett’s. That’s one item. But there are so many more…Just look at that picture.

The picture on the wall was mine, but the white bookcase below it was Grandma Maudies. The camel chests were George’s mom and dads. The lamp was my mother’s father, Gimpa. The Morris chair in front of it was Gimpa’s too. Though the sofa is new Ikea, my favorite chair was once Bobbies…and much closer to the floor. George gave it new legs.

I guess that over the years I have grown into acceptance that all this stuff is me. George’s family lived with rooms of things bought in Pakistan. My family lived with Gimpa’s things. Even blue chairs sometimes feel they are living a split life.

My poor kids will have to live with the generational confusions.

  • Himself: Taking the week off. What fun.
  • Myself: Cleaning up the wreckage of my present.
  • Reading: “The Only Way to Cross.”
  • Watching: Antiques Roadshow and Jay Leno’s Garage.
  • Photo: Both mine.
  • Gratitude’s: That I got to sleep in this morning.

hippiechica15 December 21, 2021

My home is now filled with things that other members of my family once owned, and I treasure all of them <3

Jinn December 21, 2021

I love living with things that have a history. I don’t know all the people who owned them but I know they used to belong to someone :-) and hopefully my kids will want some of it !

Jinn December 21, 2021

Your things are lovely !

aunty EM December 22, 2021

Our past makes us who we are. That's why we can't erase history.

NorthernSeeker December 22, 2021

Sleeping in is the bomb. Your furniture blends together seamlessly. Every piece has a story.

Oswego December 23, 2021

I’m going through this as I move. Rather than buy new furniture that’s “me,” I’m taking a few cherished family pieces from Mom’s house, including two sofas and a dining room table. One of the sofas is way too elegant for me, but I’ve spent the last 15 years dozing on it, andI can’t part with it. Lol. Plus, it, and the small writing desk in my old study, will allow for some continuity and familiarity in the move, since there’s no avoiding it. sighs

MageB Oswego ⋅ December 23, 2021

Good for you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.