COUNTDOWN in Postcards 4

  • Dec. 14, 2021, 3:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I’m slow today. I got all of me done, but slowly. Meds taken, drops in eyes, legs on, clothing on, and even a bit of book read too by 1030. Normally I am in here by nine.

That was George’s grandmother rocker. When she was a child, she wasn’t well. The family put this rocker in their Conestoga wagon so she would be comfortable coming to Colorado. She was a strongly opinionated lady. She married a WWI German prisoner of war, and at the end could be found protesting stroke therapy. The rocker rocked long and hard over the years until now those rockers are flat. In the 90’s, we devalued it tremendously by thinning the coat of bubbly, black varnish. Even so, it’s now a cherished member of our family.

Today the Christmas Cat is lurking on top of the grandfather clock. I truly enjoy seeing him peeking out from the fascia at the holiday things.

  • Himself: Needs two small fillings and one crown….Thursday.
  • Myself: Called those folks that sent me that sent the “Guided Conversation“letter. Yes I have those things all done (it’s just outdated.)
  • Reading: A lovely letter and card from Carol and Robert. Carol who had such trouble printing things.
  • Watching: My usual Monday Antiques Roadshow.
  • Weather: In the 40’s and rainy. So delightful to hear rain on the roof.
  • Photo: Mine. 2017
  • Gratitude’s: For the rain.

Last updated December 14, 2021


Zipster December 14, 2021

That chair has quite a few stories to tell! I love the expression of said cat.
We are about to float away out here today!

NorthernSeeker December 14, 2021

Making the rocker useful again is better than preserving it as an antique. It's very refreshing to get rain after a long spell. We had snow this morning but it melted on the ground.

Jinn December 16, 2021

I love the rocker :-) !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.